• 59°

Early voting ends today for Tuesday’s primary election, Fibrant referendum

SALISBURY — One-stop early voting ends today at the Rowan County Board of Elections office in Salisbury.

The office is in West End Plaza at 1935 Jake Alexander Blvd. W. It will be open from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Voters who have not registered in Rowan County may do so at the same time they cast their ballots.

Anyone who is 17 now but will be 18 before the Nov. 6 general election may also vote in primary elections. But 17-year-olds may not vote in the city referendum on Fibrant or the race for Kannapolis Board of Education.

Republican primary races include North Carolina Senate District 33North Carolina House of Representatives District 83 and three seats on the Rowan County Board of Commissioners.

Candidates include:

• Carl Ford and Bill Sorenson in Senate District 33.

• Michael Anderson and Larry Pittman in House District 83.

• Greg Edds, Jim Greene, Michael Julian, Judy Klusman, Craig Pierce and Jim Sides for Rowan County Board of Commissioners.

Democratic primary races include U.S. House of Representatives District 8 and District 13 and North Carolina House District 83.

Candidates include:

• Scott Huffman, Frank McNeill and Marc Tiegel in U.S. House District 8.

• Adam Coker and Kathy Manning in U.S. House District 13.

• Senah Andrews, Earle Schecter and Gail Young in North Carolina House District 83.

In Salisbury, the ballot also includes the city of Salisbury referendum on whether to lease the Fibrant broadband service to Hotwire Communications.

In Kannapolis, two seats for the city Board of Education in Area 1 are on the ballot.

Candidates are Kristina Tutterow Cook, Brenda McCombs, Jessica Dixon Touart, Janet E. Yvars and incumbent Daniel M. Wallace.



UNCC chancellor talks about strengthening partnerships in Rowan County


City adopts 2021-22 budget, discusses third quarter financial report from current fiscal year


Landis, Kannapolis discuss extraterritorial boundary change as 1,000-home subdivision planned


Bill retires many NC coal-fired plants, boosts renewables

High School

High school baseball: East escapes with eighth-inning homer; South also wins in first round


Board of Elections moves forward with purchase of new voting equipment, software


‘New energy’ coming from QB Darnold


Museum loses contract over event deemed racially insensitive


NC tax revenue soars, $6.5B windfall predicted by mid-2023


Police: Grandmother of man who shot at officers found dead


Blotter: Gold Hill man charged with statutory rape


Man charged with killing 28-year-old found dead in crashed car


68-year-old woman identified as Jackson Street murder victim


Man arrested in Jacksonville for Salisbury murder


Rowan-Salisbury Schools finalizes normal, five-day schedule for fall


Council to vote on budget, consider permit for child care center near downtown


Landis adopts budget with reduction in residential electric rates, no tax increases


Political Notebook: Budd campaign touts boost in voter support after Trump endorsement


Seventh Dragon Boat Festival scheduled July 24


NC rights groups say GOP bills impede voting access


Sgt. Shane Karriker’s funeral procession travels through downtown Salisbury


Blotter: June 14

Ask Us

Ask Us: When will front entrance to courthouse reopen?


As COVID-19 cases wane, vaccine-lagging areas still at risk