Early voting starts Thursday in May primary races for Congress, local offices

Published 2:21 pm Wednesday, April 18, 2018

SALISBURY — One-stop early voting starts Thursday at the Rowan County Board of Elections office in Salisbury.

The office is in West End Plaza at 1935 Jake Alexander Blvd. W.

Additional one-stop locations will open Friday at the American Legion building in Rockwell, 8580 U.S. 52, and the Rowan Public Library South Branch in China Grove, 920 Kimball Road.

All sites will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Salisbury location will be open 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturdays, April 28 and May 5.

Rockwell and China Grove sites will be open from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturday, April 28.

All locations will be closed on Sundays.

Unregistered voters may register to vote at the same time they cast their ballots.

Anyone who is 17 but will be 18 before the Nov. 6 general election may also participate in primary elections. They may not vote on the city of Salisbury referendum on Fibrant or the race for Kannapolis City school board.

Republican primary races include North Carolina Senate District 33 and North Carolina House of Representatives District 83 and three seats on the Rowan County Board of Commissioners. Candidates include:

• Carl Ford and Bill Sorenson in Senate District 33.

• Michael Anderson and Larry Pittman in House District 83.

• Greg Edds, Jim Greene, Michael Julian, Judy Klusman, Craig Pierce and Jim Sides for the Rowan County Board of Commissioners.

Democratic primary races include U.S. House of Representatives District 8 and District 13, and North Carolina House District 83. Candidates include:

• Scott Huffman, Frank McNeill and Marc Tiegel in U.S. House District 8.

• Adam Coker and Kathy Manning in U.S. House District 13.

• Senah Andrews, Earle Schecter and Gail Young in North Carolina House District 83.

The ballot will also include the City of Salisbury Referendum on Fibrant and two seats for the Kannapolis City Board of Education.

Two seats are up for grabs on the board for Area I.

Candidates include Kristina Tutterow Cook, Brenda McCombs, Jessica Dixon Touart, Daniel M. Wallace and Janet E. Yvars.