Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, March 10, 2016

NC 4-H Horse Bowl

From left to right: Alexandria Reinhardt, Erin Christner, Hannah Barringer, Dr. Ann Furr, MicahFurr and Abby Kluttz

From left to right: Alexandria Reinhardt, Erin Christner, Hannah Barringer, Dr. Ann Furr, MicahFurr and Abby Kluttz

Rowan County was well represented at the North Carolina 4-H State Horse Bowl by the senior team of the East Equine Explorers of Rockwell.

The team of Alexandria Reinhardt, Erin Christner, Abby Kluttz, Hannah Barringer and Captain Micah Furr went undefeated at the March 5 competition in five rounds to win the Senior Division Horse Bowl contest. The Horse Bowl, held at the NC State University campus, is a competitive science-based, fast-moving game with questions covering all aspects of horsemanship including the anatomy, physiology, husbandry and training of horses.

Furr received reserve champion individual for most questions answered. Her performance earned her an invitation to be a part of the N.C. State 4-H national team.

The club also fielded a hippology team of Christner, Kluttz and Alexandria Reinhardt. The hippology contest consists of a written exam, photo identification of horse related tack and equipment and horse judging. Placing second in the senior contest was Christner, whose overall score earned her a reserve championship and an invitation to be on the N.C. State 4-H National team.

The three also won the team problem champion ribbon, in which the group has 15 minutes to work together to answer in writing a real life horse management situation. This year’s question was to design an ideal horse breeding and training facility, including topography, traffic flow, pasture management and safety that is environmentally responsible.

Isenberg Elementary

The following students were recently selected as February Great Gators of the Month:

Pre-K: Dariel Taylor

Kindergarten: Leecia Connor, Lilliana McMillan, Zekiah Neely, Alexus Pemental, Jereline Sumo, Chloe Troutman, April Velazquez and Domingo Wooden

First Grade: Na’Kyla Alexander, Xia Benton, Curtis Campbell, Kingston Gomillion, Andrew Pressley, Ky’Marah Price, Yeimi Sanchez and Devin Truong
Second Grade: Zion Gillespie, Trinidad Mafuta, Mya Oliva, Davion Roseborough, Morgan Shannon, and Emmanuel Williams
Third Grade: Jennifer Antonio Montes, Samantha Brown, Ngoc Duong, Bralen Mitchell, Avena Yang and Axel Zavala Guzman
Fourth Grade: Drew Burton, Norma Gomez Baca, Ethan Le, Lesly Reyes, Jeredine Sumo, and Lamar Walker
Fifth Grade: Guillermo Antonio, Jaykwon Jackson, Natavia Reid, Annaliese Vang, Caitlyn Williams and Elizabeth Williams

Sacred Heart

The A Honor Roll for the 2015-16 second trimester 2015-2016
Fourth Grade: Corbin Bailey, Lily Boldt, Ellie Cardelle, Mary Grace Cardelle, Emma Rose Dishman, Kaiden Dulkoski, Rachel Flynn,  Gray Goodman,  James Holland and Theresa Hurysz
Fifth Grade: Hannah Carr, Cooper Fleeman, Drew Hansen, Gianna Patella and Kyna Zaldivar
Sixth Grade: Nick Antosek, Grace Blackwell, Ben Childress, Riley Dillon, Colin Donaldson, Miles Lester, Sophia Malloy, Rachel McCullough, Nicholas Talero, Ella Trainor, Sutton Webb and Will Webb
Seventh Grade: Caroline Cardelle and Theresa Holland
Eighth Grade: Jean Holman, Victoria Jones, Alyssa Lopez and Hannah Smith

RCCC students receive SECU scholarship

Rhonda Horton, of Cabarrus County, and Abigail Russell, of Rowan County, were awarded the State Employees’ Credit Union “People Helping People” scholarship.

The State Employees’ Credit Union Foundation provides two $5,000 scholarships annually to each of the 58 North Carolina community colleges. Recipients for both scholarships are selected by the individual college’s scholarship committees. Selections are based on a student’s embodiment of the credit union’s “People Helping People” philosophy demonstrated through leadership, excellence of character, integrity and community involvement, along with an overall grade point average of 2.5 or higher.