• 66°

Graduation 2019: South Rowan High School scholarships

Scholarships received by South Rowan High School graduates:

Abby Zentmeyer: N.C. Teaching Scholars Scholarship, Bruce Miller FFA Alumni Scholarship, State Employees Credit Union Scholarship, Rowan-Salisbury Association of Educators Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarship.

Abigail Chabala: Crosby Scholars Aspire Video Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarship.

Adam Black: N.C. State Fireman’s Association Scholarship, Sam R. & Louise May Endowed Scholarship.

Allison Williams: James H. Donnell Jr. FFA Alumni Memorial Scholarship.

Andrew Jones: Trustee Scholarship, True Homes Scholarship.

Anna Blume: Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship, Lenoir-Rhyne Opportunity Scholarship, Talbert & Dorothy Howell Scholarship, Lenoir-Ryhne Scholars Scholarship.

Anthony Skrip: The Wild Bill Corriher Scholarship.

Bailee Elliott: UNCC Chancellors Scholarship, Trustee Scholarship, Eurkea Lodge 283 Masonic Scholarship, Larry Deal 83 Scholarship.

Belen Fierro: Presidential Scholarship, Dean’s Scholarship.

Brylan Barrier: Academic Merit Scholarship.

Carl Brown: University Scholarship.

Chrishea Massey: Founders Scholarship.

Christian Reynolds: University Scholarship, Sibling Scholarship.

Corey Jimenez: UTI Scholarship.

Courtney Mullins: Academic Merit Scholarship, True Homes Scholarship.

Cristal Ramos: Presidential Scholarship, Salisbury Rotary Club Scholarship.

Devin Stubbs: Dean’s Scholarship.

Faith Watson: Trustee Scholarship, Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship, Dean’s Scholarship, John & Margaret Allison Scholarship, The Ola Mae Horton Memorial Scholarship, Kayla Berquist Memorial Scholarship.

Gage Earnhardt: University Scholarship.

Gavin Thompson: Carolina Covenant Scholarship, Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship, J. Michael McDuffie Scholarship.

Gracie James: Trustee Scholarship.

Haley Sloop: West Scholars Teaching Scholarship, Honors Program Scholarship, Trustee Scholarship, Presidential Scholarship, Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship, Presidential Scholarship, Rowan County Masonic Scholarship, Bradley Barnhardt Memorial Scholarship, Millbridge Ruritan Club Scholarship, Rowan Retired School Personnel Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarships, Rowan County Masonic Scholarship.

Hannah Abernathy: University Scholarship.

Hannah Wallace: Presidential Scholarship, Dean’s Scholarship, Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship.

Issac Miller: Rowan County Home Builders Scholarship.

Jamie Minehart: Presidential Scholarship, UNCC Tuition Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarships, George & Ada Fleming Scholarship.

Jamileet Santa Cruz: China Grove Rotary Club Scholarship.

Janiya Downs: Presidential Scholarship, Presidential Scholarship, Dean’s Scholarship, Hendo’s Hope Scholarship.

Jarrid Nelson: Steve Lee Memorial Scholarship.

Jessica Winkler: Founders Scholarship.

Joyce Ortega: Presidential Scholarship, True Homes Scholarship.

Kali Thompson: Winslow Foundation Scholarship, Merit Scholarship.

Katie Chen: Carolina Covenant Scholarship, UNCC Dean’s Scholarship.

Kaylee Matthews: Trustee Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarships, Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship.

Kendra Petrea: Trustee Scholarship, Presidential Scholarship, Administrative On-Campus Housing Scholarship, Top Ten Percent Scholarship.

Kiersten Yates: Presidential Scholarship.

Kimberly Mendoza: Presidential Scholarship, True Homes Scholarship.

Kristen Minehart: Presidential Scholarship, UNCC Chancellors Scholarship, UNCC Tuition Scholarship, George & Ada Fleming Scholarship, Veterans Council Leadership & Achievement Award Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarships, Jean Jordan Memorial Scholarship.

Lauren Shell: Clyde Corriher Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship, Florence Kidder Scholarship.

Lee Price: Presidential Scholarship, Trustee Scholarship.

Logan King: The Bradshaw Financial Planning Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarships.

Madison Allman: Chancellor’s Scholarship, UNCC Tuition Scholarship, Trustee Scholarship.

Madison Lowery: Dean’s Scholarship, Athletic Scholarship.

Maggie Utley: University Scholarship.

Makina Smith: Presidential Scholarship

Mary Kirk: Presidential Scholarship, John & Margaret Allison Scholarship.

Maverick Page: Presidential Scholarship.

Mikayla Roark: Trustee Scholarship.

Morganne Jordan: University Scholarship.

Noah Severt: Academic Merit Scholarship.

Oscar Morton: Dean’s Scholarship, Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship.

Rachel Scoggins: Millbridge Ruritan Club Scholarship, Dean’s Scholarship.

Ranna Eudy: University Scholarship.

Raven Brady: Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship.

Reena Cavin: Dean’s Scholarship.

Rhianna Kimmer: Presidential Scholarship, Trustee Scholarship.

Sara Fulton: Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship.

Sarah Maynor: Chancellor’s Achievement Scholarship, Chancellor’s Scholarship, Children of Wartime Veterans Scholarship.

Taylor Gillespie: Prudden Scholarship, Sibling Scholarship, The Wild Bill Corriher Scholarship.

Taylor McKnight: Presidential Scholarship, Trustee Scholarship.

Zane Tutterow: UNCC Chancellor’s Scholarship, South Rowan Alumni Association Scholarship, The Zach Thompson Memorial Scholarship.



Blotter: Woman charged with drug crimes


Nesting no more: Eagles appear to have moved on from Duke’s Buck Station


The Smoke Pit leaving downtown Salisbury for standalone building on Faith Road



High School

High school football: Hornets’ Gaither set the tone against West


Salisbury to show off new fire station


Livingstone College to host virtual Big Read events this month


City makes some appointments to local boards, holds off on others to seek women, appointees of color


Education briefs: RCCC instructor honored by Occupational Therapy Association


Second quarter financial update shows promising outlook for city’s budget


Genia Woods: Let’s talk about good news in Salisbury


City attorney will gather more information for Salisbury nondiscrimination ordinance


North Hills planning to hold May fundraiser in person

East Spencer

Developers aim to transform former Dunbar School site into multi-purpose community development


Knox student organizing event to get community cycling


Decision on Essie Mae charter appeal expected Thursday


House passes sweeping voting rights bill over GOP opposition


Police uncover ‘possible plot’ by militia to breach Capitol


States rapidly expanding vaccine access as supplies surge


North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper receives COVID-19 vaccine


North Carolina health officials urge schools to reopen


In letter, PETA criticizes Salisbury Police for K-9 video


Three deaths, 29 new COVID-19 positives reported


Blotter: Bullet holes found in woman’s Park Avenue apartment