• 75°

Education shoutouts

North Hills Christian School

The following students made the All A honor roll for the fourth quarter:

First grade: Kylie Brooks, Cesar Escoto, Lucy Garris, Tyler Greening, Maddie Grossman, Ryleigh Johnson, Junior Lyerly, Brantley Perrell, Mason Shepherd, Austin Shore, Reid Stewart, Landon Stratmann, Julianna Whitley and Balian Witt.
Second grade: Elise Budzisch, Karlie Burris, Annabell Melton, Rebecca Pugh, Sam Stadler and Leah Wippenbeck.
Third grade: Hailey Bello, Cade Brooks, Zoe Burnett, Presleigh Sutton and Jimmy Szymanski.
Fourth grade: Dylan Carter, Corbin Cross, Jasmine David, Dillin Galloway, Hunter Grossman, Gracie Hauser, Colton Helms, Renna Linn, Bella Maynor, Alec McGrail, Keegan Merrell, Reese Merrell, Amelia Neumiller, Addison Shehan, Blaine Smith and Cole Stadler.
Fifth grade: Mason Barrier, Morgan Deaton, Brayden Latva, Riley Lowder and Meredith Martin.
Sixth grade: Jonathan Bello, Megan Clifford, Gentry Horton, Lynsi Hunt, Landon Merrell, Jenna Plummer, Ava Sutton and Kasey Wippenbeck.
Seventh grade: Ansley Deal, Olivia Herrin and Cyprus Jones.
Eighth grade: Aaron McGrail, Jada Rice, Jacob Saunders and Jaime Weaver.
Ninth grade: Mikayla Hamilton, Ash Han, Caroline Nance and Abigail Zunk.
Tenth grade: Tyler Hunt.
Eleventh grade: Bailey Birkhead, Colby Edmonds and Audrey McGrail.
Twelfth grade: Dean Gilmore, Catherine Johnson and Nolan Parrish.

The following students made the AB honor roll for the fourth quarter:

First grade: Kellsie Alligood, Asher Pethel and Ethan Robbins.
Second grade: Mia Cross, Reagan Dixon, Chris Doan, Van Ferrell, Natalie Krack, Wesley Ludwig, Heavenly Mcrae, Kailyn Meacham, Madden Moody, Joel Oh and Kai Stadler.
Third grade: Stillman Burnett, Aiden Meacham, Julian Myers, Abigail Pereira, Tailor Russell, Chloe Salyers, Caleb Teague and Colin Williams.
Fourth grade: Sara Barringer, Michael Eddinger, Lizzie Fonville, Kira Gladden, Jackson Hall, Joshua Hastings, Grace Joyner, Tahlon Matthews, Dusty Morgan, Auden Pethel and Emily Teague.
Fifth grade: Peter Bentley, Maggie Cross, Addie Myers, Micah Nguyen, Kemyon Oglesby, Grayson Smith, Grayson Williams and Noah Wooten.
Sixth grade: McKenna Anderson, Grace Bemus, Audrey Corriher, Elijah Finley, Bailey Fisher, Rachel Johnson, Rylan Joyner, Carlee Latva, Noah Merrell, Allison Peck, Morgan Rice, Mason Rollins, Quin Stadler, Rylan Talbott, Meg Weaver, Ivey Wilson and Sam Wilson. Seventh grade: Jeremiah Crisco, Jordan Henderson, Andrew Huffman, Kandus Kimball, Marik Kolbasowski, Kaity Luckadoo, Kenrik Payne,  Eli Sherrill, Kane Talbott, Davis West and Ashlyn Zunk.
Eighth grade: Rose Carroll, Abbey Deaton, Sophie Hill, Susanna Kozlowski, Hallie Parrish, Anna Teague, Devin Vandevere and Weston Wright.
Ninth grade: Ariel Fontenot, Sophy Hergenreter, Elisabeth Houghton, Sissy Jones, Journey Kellis, Joseph Kolbasowski, Austin Latva, Melanie Long and Ashley Mays.
Tenth grade: Anthony Bello, Devon Mitchell, Bryson Turner and Chloe Turner.
Eleventh grade: Shelby Kennerly, Madison Rollins and Charity Sassano.
Twelfth grade: Marco Chen, Jacky Luo, Mark Nie, Alex Smith and Silas Wertz.

The following students received Latin honors for the fourth quarter:

Fourth grade: Corbin Cross, Jasmine David, Joshua Hastings, Gracie Hauser, Colton Helms, Renna Linn, Tahlon Matthews, Bella Maynor, Alec McGrail, Keegan Merrell, Reese Merrell, Amelia Neumiller, Addison Sheehan, Blaine Smith, Cole Stadler and Mason Turner.
Fifth grade: Mason Barrier, Morgan Deaton, Jake Kelly, Riley Lowder, Micah Nguyen, Kemyon Oglesby, Grayson Smith, J.D. Tysinger and Grayson Williams.

Scholarship awarded

Parker Greene, a student at West Rowan High School, has been awarded the FFA’s Archer Daniels Midland Company Scholarship, a $1,000 value.

Southern Arkansas University

Chloe Cox of Salisbury has been selected to receive the University Scholarship from Southern Arkansas University to begin in the 2018-2019 academic year.

This scholarship has a four-year value of $36,000 and includes $4,500 per semester. Cox is the daughter of Michael Cox and Julie Cox and is a recent Abeka Homeschool Academy graduate.

Mars Hill University

James Lawrence Gilreath and Kayla S. McClendon, both of Kannapolis, were named to the spring 2018 Dean’s List at Mars Hill University. To qualify for the Dean’s List, students must earn a grade-point average of 3.5 on a minimum of 12 semester hours, and carry no grade below a C.

Wofford College

Madeline Ann Labovitz of Salisbury made the Dean’s List at Wofford College for the spring semester.

To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled for at least 12 semester hours of graded courses and attain a semester grade point average of 3.6 or higher.

Sherman College of Chiropractic

Sierra Davis, of Salisbury, and Kathryn Heidt, of Rockwell, have been named to the Sherman College of Chiropractic’s Dean’s List for grades earned during the spring 2018 academic quarter. Dean’s List students have achieved a grade point average of at least 3.5 for the quarter.




Hundreds turn out for annual Juneteenth celebration on newest federal holiday


Between local champions and an upcoming state tournament, pickleball putting Salisbury on map


Business leaders hope to draw big crowd for job fair at West End Plaza


Officers cleared in Mooresville shooting


From firefighter to photographer, Brianna Mitschele is ready to capture more moments in downtown Salisbury


25 years later, runners reflect on Olympic torch’s trip through Rowan


Commissioners to consider designating Newberry Hall House as county historic landmark

Farm & Garden

51st annual Old Southeast Threshers’ Reunion set for July 1-5


Biz Roundup: St. Luke’s Episcopal Church Foundation awards grants from Salisbury to Jerusalem


Kristy Woodson Harvey: For Dad


South Salisbury Fire Department activates new weather siren


Library Notes: Meet the ‘Dare Devil Dogs’ in Week 5


Q&A with Bishop Tim Smith


Wolfpack tops Stanford falls in College World Series opener


‘Down by the Praise Pond’ shares local author’s faith in debut children’s book


Driver crashes into crowd at Pride parade in Florida; 1 dead


Search continues after 3 tubers die, 2 disappear at dam


Research from NC State professors is aboard space station


Livingstone College celebrates federal recognition of Juneteenth


Wolfpack faces Stanford today in College World Series


Tropical weather lashes Gulf Coast with winds, rain


Girl attacked by bear in Great Smoky Mountains National Park


Cooper vetoes bill that would have allowed more to carry guns in churches


Two tubers remain missing after going over Dan River dam