National Book Award winners named

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 21, 2013

The 2013 National Book Award Winners are:
Fiction: James McBride, “The Good Lord Bird” (Riverhead Books/Penguin Group USA)
Nonfiction: George Packer, “The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America” (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
Poetry: Mary Szybist, “Incarnadine: Poems” (Graywolf Press)
Young People’s Literature: Cynthia Kadohata, “The Thing About Luck” (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster)