Area sports briefs: Three jayvee teams win titles

Published 12:00 am Friday, October 28, 2011

From staff reports
Salisbury’s jayvee football team pounded East Davidson 49-7 in Thomasville on Thursday to close out a perfect season and win another CCC championship.
Salisbury (10-0) has won 15 straight games dating back to 2010 and has won 28 straight CCC contests.
Roy Vinson’s 3-yard run opened the scoring.
Travon Ellis had scoring runs of 4 and 38 yards for the young Hornets, who led 21-0 at halftime.
Tony Krider broke a 51-yard scoring play, and Malik White accounted for a 54-yard score.
A.J. Hill added a 3-yard scoring jaunt.
Salisbury scored once through the air with Riley Myers passing 32 yards to Ryan Jones.
Stephen Mazur was 7-for-7 on PATs.
Damek Bratcher, Isaiah Little, Jeremiah Billingslea and Jaquez Finger led Salisbury’s defense.
North Rowan’s jayvees beat South Davidson 21-0 and capped an undefeated season in the YVC with a strong team effort.
A.L. Brown’s jayvees scored on every offensive possession and buried Concord 42-12 to finish an unbeaten season and won another SPC championship.
E.J. Dean plowed for 130 yards on 13 carries and scored three TDs.
Casey Walker, Malik Fowler and R.J. Fowler also scored for the Wonders (10-0).
Coaches praised the play of tight end Bernard Wilson and the hustle of Jonathan Cano.
Coach Chip English accepted the traditional Gatorade bath after the Wonders’ romp.
Prep soccer
East Rowan won a tiebreaker game with Carson 2-1 on Thursday to decide the NPC’s fourth and final berth in the 3A playoffs.
Both teams finished 5-7 in NPC play and split with each other.
East went ahead 2-0 before David Garcia scored for the Cougars on an assist by Isaias Guerrero.
The second half was scoreless.
Guerrero finished the season with four goals and 13 assists.
Prep cross country
The 3A Midwest Regional will be held at Charlotte’s McAlpine Park on Saturday.
Boys will run at 10 a.m., with the girls race starting at 11.
CCC runners will be in the 2A Midwest Regional held in Waxhaw.
The girls race is at 10:30 a.m.
Prep golf
The NCHSAA girls golf championships will be held for the 31st time on Monday and Tuesday.
This will be the ninth year the NCHSAA has offered championships in multiple classifications.
For the first time, 3A will have a separate championship.
4A again will have its own championship, and 1A and 2A teams, including Salisbury, will compete for a championship.
The 4A championship will be held at Pinehurst No. 6; 3A will be at Foxfire Resort and Golf Club, and 1A-2A will be held at Longleaf Golf and Country Club in Southern Pines.
Ardrey Kell is the defending 4A champ. 3A West Henderson won 1A-2A-3A titles the last two seasons.
The best three scores for a team, which may have up to five individuals, are counted each day toward the team total.
Prep football
On Thursday, the NCHSAA denied Freedom’s appeal of a ruling that made the football team ineligible for the playoffs this season.
A committee heard the Freedom appeal but upheld the decision that five Freedom players were ejected for fighting in last week’s game against Chase. That number put Freedom over the allowable limit for ejections in a season.
College hoops
Pfeiffer’s women’s basketball team will play at Duke on Nov. 3 at 7 p.m. Admission is free.
“We are extremely honored to be able to play Duke in Cameron Indoor stadium,” Pfeiffer coach Jill Thomas said. “This experience is something our players and coaches will never forget.”
Duke is ranked in the preseason Top 10 by several publications.
College volleyball
The Division II Southeast Region rankings include a plethora of SAC teams.
Wingate is ranked second.
Lincoln Memorial (fourth), Catawba (fifth), Tusculum (sixth), Carson-Newman (seventh) and Lenoir-Rhyne (ninth) are also highly regarded.
Catawba Valley Community College’s Breckin Settlemyer (Carson) had six kills in a 3-0 loss to Spartanburg Methodist on Thursday.
Brevard’s Amanda Possidente (East Rowan) has played in 16 games this season and has 11 digs.
Local golf
Shane Benfield won the championship flight of the two-round McCanless Club Championship.
Benfield shot 143. He was followed by Randy Martin (156) and Kevin Lentz (157).
Terrol Kendall won the first flight with a 161 total. He was followed by Ron Blythe (165) and Evan Neas (167).
John Lambert won the second flight with a total of 180. He was followed by Jeff Warren (182) and Brennan Lambert (191).n Winning the ladies championship flight was Sharon Miller with a total of 158. Kristi Laton (164) and Mary Seaford (167) were next.
Kendall is the club senior champion. Neas is the club junior champ.