People and Places

Published 12:00 am Friday, September 23, 2011

Salisbury Womanís Club
The September meeting featured Linda Copland of Family Crisis Council explaining the mission to help empower victims of rape, sexual assault, incest, and domestic violence take back their lives. She discussed the various support programs in prevention, education, and awareness the Crisis Council offers. Womanís Club members brought 79 pairs of socks for the residents of the shelter to help them step away from abuse.
The 24 hour Crisis Line is 704-636-4718.
Ann Bingham used kindness as the theme for devotions prior to the luncheon catered by Trinity Oaks. President Angela Bates presided at the business session where she announced the Oct. 8th District 3 meeting in Mooresville, and recognized a special guest, Rory Ulrich.
Hostesses LindaJones and Carolyn Myers decorated the tables with ice-cream soda replicas filled with socks to resemble a special treat. These socks were donated to the Family Crisis Council.
Iota Psi program
The Iota Psi chapter of Beta Sigma Phi hosted the 2011 Beginning Day on Aug. 29 at First United Methodist Church in China Grove. The theme for this year is ěBuilding Our Future Through Traditions.î Millie Campbell, City Council president, led the opening ritual and the Beta Sigma Phi grace.
After dinner entertainment was provided by the Rev. Bob Sallee and his wife, Fawn, a member if Iota Psi, who sang several traditional inspirational songs for us. Door prizes and a 50/50 raffle followed.
Beta Sigma Phi is a social and cultural organization. Iota Psi meets the first and third Tuesday of each month, September through May. To learn more about Beta Sigma Phi, call chapter president Gail Young at 704-245-3616.
Lyerly reunion
The families of the late Walter Adolphus and Minnie Morgan Lyerly met on Saturday, Sept. 17 for their annual reunion at the Faith American Legion building. Tim and Linda Lyerly hosted the chicken dinner served to 41 Lyerly descendants.
President Eddie Rogers welcomed the group and presided over the business. The only change in the Lyerly history was the death of Jean Leazer Lyerly on July 4.
Officers for next year are Lynn Caskey, president; Jan Burris, vice president; Gaynelle Morgan, secretary/treasurer.
Out-of-towners were Max and Deanie Webb of Madison.
C.C. and Dot Caskey will host the next reunion on Sept. 15, 2012.