Hood celebrates 20th Bishop James Walker Hood Donor and Scholarship Recognition Dinner

Published 12:00 am Saturday, June 8, 2024

SALISBURY — Hood Theological Seminary celebrated its 20th Annual Bishop James Walker Hood Donor and Scholarship Recognition Dinner. The master of ceremonies was Dr. Angela Davis-Baxter and supported by Dr. Vergel Lattimore, the president of the Seminary.

The guest speaker was Bishop William Gregg, retired bishop in the Episcopalian Church and Adjunct Professor in Theology at Hood Theological Seminary. He spoke on the topic of “The Importance of Theological Education for the Church and Why Supporting Theological Education Matters?”

The new student government officers of the Seminary for 2024-2025 were presented. Joe Davis of the AME Zion Connectional Lay Council made a special presentation with a check to the Seminary to support student scholarships. Further, students of the Seminary who received endowed scholarships were recognized for their achievements.

There were four Bishop James Walker Hood Awards:

Community Award: The Civitan Club of Salisbury for its philanthropic community support.

Individual Donor Award: Lovetta J. Holmes for her community and philanthropic support to the seminary, church and community.

Alumni Donor Award: Dr. Paul and Nancy Baker for their philanthropic support of the seminary.

Zion Heritage Appreciation Award: Jacqueline L. Anthony for her stellar leadership and service in AME Zion Church and as president and CEO of the African American Museum and Cultural Center, Inc.