High school softball: Clarke, Tigert, McNeely lead All-SPC team

Published 4:24 am Tuesday, June 4, 2024



Staff report

Rowan County programs took the top honors for South Piedmont Conference softball.

West Rowan senior shortstop Emma Clarke, a Tennessee recruit, was named SPC Player of the Year.

East Rowan freshman Madalynn Tigert was named Pitcher of the Year.

East Rowan’s Todd McNeely, who guided the Mustangs to regular season and tournament championships, is the SPC Coach of the Year.

Five Mustangs made All-SPC, with Kori Miller, Lily Kluttz, Eleni Miller and Camryn Perkins joining Tigert.

In addition to Clarke, West’s Arabelle Shulenburger, Reese Poole and EA Nance made the All-SPC team.

South Rowan’s Kynlee Dextraze and Lexie Ritchie and  Carson’s Caylee Snow also made All-SPC.

All-SPC softball

Central Cabarrus — Chloe Phillips, Haley Rezy, Rachel Pressley, Peyton Smith, Taryn Jenkins

NW Cabarrus — Isabella Ellis, Tatum Krolak, Haylee Ellis

Lake Norman Charter — Ilyana Smith, Morgan Gadd

Robinson — Kendra Nichols, Aniyah Jones

Player of the Year – Clarke, West Rowan

Pitcher of the Year – Tigert, East Rowan

Coach of the Year – Todd McNeely, East Rowan