High school baseball: Mustangs sweep top SPC honors

Published 4:44 am Tuesday, June 4, 2024



Staff report

East Rowan senior shortstop Cobb Hightower is the South Piedmont Conference Player of the Year for baseball.

The UNC recruit led the Mustangs to SPC regular season and conference championships, and the Mustangs (34-2) took the 3A state championship over the weekend.

East Rowan sophomore lefty Harrison Ailshie was 10-0 with great numbers and is the SPC Pitcher of the Year.

East head coach Brett Hatley is the SPC Coach of the Year. The Mustangs were 15-1 in conference play.

The Mustangs had seven All-SPC players, with McCall Henderson, Logan Dyer, Braden Shive, Nate Hayworth and Sam Blackwelder joining Hightower and Ailshie on the squad.

Carson’s Jayven Parks, Daxton Savage and Cam Williamson are All-SPC, along with West Rowan’s Cole Blevins, Drew Burton and Corbin Bailey, and South Rowan’s Marshal Faw and Conner Coy.


 All-SPC baseball

Lake Norman Charter — Braden Wilkie, Colin Weathers, Jacob Makowski

NW Cabarrus — Dalton Hazlett, Blake Gaffney, Alex Walker, Tyler Smith

Robinson — Jake Barbee

Central Caabrrus — Aiden Kwon


Player of the Year –  Hightower, East Rowan

Pitcher of the Year – Ailshie, East Rowan

Coach of the Year – Brett Hatley, East Rowan