AAUW celebrates Goldman Scholars

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 30, 2024

SALISBURY — The Salisbury Branch of American Association of University Women (AAUW) hosted its annual Goldman Scholars recognition event on Monday, May 13, at Rowan Public Library headquarters, acknowledging young women aspiring for higher education from Rowan County. The Class of 2024 cohort includes Jai’da Akins of Salisbury High School, Jennifer Guzman Ochoa of Rowan County Early College, Abigail Jarem of East Rowan High School, Valerie Jordan of Carson High School, Tyler Morrison of North Rowan High School and Sara Pierce of Rowan County Early College.

“AAUW is proud to support the future of young women who are forging their way forward for their position in the mosaic world,” said Da’Tarvia Parrish, branch president.

The fellowship and feast event welcomed past and current Goldman Scholars with their families to engage and interact with AAUW and Goldman Board members. Vice president for programs Ruby Walker served as hostess, with other contributors of the program to include Kathy Pulliam, Phyllis Post, Diane Labovitz, Julia Goldman and Anne Stone Ervin, the first Goldman scholarship recipient in 1966. 

“The best is yet to come,” Anne Ervin said to the current scholars while reflecting on a recent experience at a youth baptism.

She realized she’d taught one of the child’s parents and a grandparent denoting her years of service to the Rowan-Salisbury community as a professional educator.

“Thank you AAUW for getting us started,” Ervin concluded. 

Natasha Campbell of Livingstone College was also recognized as the branch’s scholarship recipient for AAUW’s signature event, National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL).

“I’m appreciative of this opportunity and I thank each of you for your support of me as a non-traditional student,” Campbell said.

The AAUW Salisbury Branch is committed to the national mission of AAUW and aims to continue to support and enhance the trajectory of women and girls in efforts to support leadership, education, and gender equity. Helen S. Goldman was an active community leader in Salisbury before her death in 1964 and was a charter member of the Salisbury branch of the AAUW, serving as its president from 1958-1960. 

Following the death of Helen S. Goldman, the Goldman family established a scholarship fund under AAUW to honor her love of education and the organization, whereas major memorials and gifts were made in subsequent years following the deaths of Julius L. Goldman, Sylvia Goldman Feit, and Joseph Goldman, leading to the organization of a non-profit private foundation in 1995.  With the addition of the 2024 class of scholars, 103 women have received Goldman Scholarships.