High school boys track and field: Salisbury’s Walker gets CCC honor

Published 10:37 pm Monday, May 27, 2024

Staff report

Salisbury’s Deuce Walker was Sprint MVP for Central Carolina Conference boys track and field.

The senior won the 100 and 200 and ran on two relay teams that had a  first and a second.

West Davidson had the Field MVP (Jesus Carmona) and the Distance MVP (Evan Wilson).

Keymon Ogelsby won both hurdling events and ran on a second-place relay to lead North Rowan.

West Davidson’s Brian Billings, a South Rowan grad, was voted CCC Coach of the Year.  Salisbury’s Hanson Saryee was runner-up in the voting.

North Rowan’s KaMahri Feamster, Emanuel Ellis, Nicholas Morrow and Zaylon Simmons joined Ogelsby on the All-CCC team.

In addition to Walker, Salisbury placed Austin Massaquori, Avery Finnegan, Ethan Griffin, Jamal Rule, Jaylyn Smith, Jeremiah Davidson, Jordan Waller, Quincy Robinson, Robert Moulton and Samuel Fatovic on the All-CCC team.


All-Central Carolina Conference boys track and field

Lexington – Cameron Eubanks

South Davidson — Ethan Byerly, Kinston Reeder, Landon Driggers, Christopher Villegas

Thomasville — Gary Pemberton, Jalen Thomas, Keyshawn Carpenter, Savion Carmichael, Taj Gabriel

West Davidson — Wilson, Carmona, Aiden Moretz, Ayden Brown, Caleb Broom, Evan Everhart. Keegan McReady, Killian Burr, Lucas Nebrich,