Catawba hosts annual awards virtually

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 7, 2020

SALISBURY – Catawba College, for this first time in its history, held its annual Awards Convocation remotely on April 27, because of restrictions associated with COVID-19.

Kenneth Clapp, interim president; Constance Lowery, provost; and Phillip Burgess, associate chair of the music department and director of choral/vocal studies, participated in the video. Graduating seniors, other students, faculty, and staff were recognized for academic achievement and service, honoring Catawba’s values of scholarship, character, culture and service.

Lowery recognized students, faculty, staff, and alumni for their amazing efforts in meeting the challenges of COVID-19, saying that she was “proud of the way our community of learners has responded.”

She also thanked Brien Lewis, former president of the college, and his family for their service.

Continuing an institutional tradition, most awards to be distributed are eco-friendly, made of Catawba blue, 100% recycled glass to symbolize the college’s ongoing commitment to sustainability.

Student Government Association awards

Student Government Association officers and college representatives recognized the outgoing Student Government Association President D. Reginald Pulley II, of Baltimore, who received the Student Government President’s Award and was presented with a gavel, awarded to the retiring president at the end of the academic year.

Other outgoing SGA executive officers thanked for their service included Vice President Sarah Grace Cuthbert, Arlington, Virginia; Treasurer Emily Avalos, Rockwell; and Secretary Cassie James, Robbins.

SGA officers who will serve during the 2020-2021 academic year were recognized, including President Ali Snider, Lexington; Vice President Alan Alford, York, S.C.; Treasurer Oryan Malul, Rishon LeZion, Israel; and Secretary Fikemi Fawehinmi, Charlotte.

The new Ms. and Mr. Catawba, elected by the student body to serve the college in the 2020-2021 academic year, were announced. They are Alex Johnson, of Durham, and Adwoa Ofori-Gyau, of Accra, Ghana.

Service to the Community and Leadership awards

Yeimi L. Reyna-Romero, of Concord, was the recipient of the Sara Cook Award for Student Involvement.

Jessica Pautz, of Mooresville, editor of “The Pioneer” student newspaper, received the Pioneer Award.

Emily Fogleman, of Liberty, was awarded the Frances Decker Wentz Award.

Phyllis Wright of the Facilities and Environmental Services Department was the recipient of the Kenneth Clapp Tri-Delta Award.

Student Shane McCormick, of Wilmington, and staff member Jeff Hartley were recognized as Leaders in Environmental Stewardship.

The President’s Award for Community Service was presented to Curtis Walker, head football coach.

Students Rebekah Davis, of Clemmons, Samuel Young, of Smithfield, Hannah Hutchens, of Mocksville and Emily Wong, of Kernersville, and faculty member Dr. Barry Sang, chair of the department of religion and philosophy, were recipients of the annual Paul Fisher Service Award.

Rebekah Davis, of Clemmons, received the Paul Fisher Service Scholarship Award.

Brooke Walser, of Salisbury, received the Nursing Clinical Practice Excellence Award.

Academic achievement awards

Ashley Bornkamp, of Mooresville, was the recipient of the Sherrill and Smith Award in Business Administration.

The Millard F. Wilson Award for Excellence in Business was presented to Sam Young, of Smithfield.

Taylor Cielo, of Raleigh, received the Rebecca H. Frantz Essay Prize. Jordan Lett of Statesville received an honorable mention.

Heather Duncan, of Salisbury, was recipient of the Bethany and Aidan Sinnott Poetry Award.

Abigail Birkhead, of Salisbury, was awarded the Martha H. Morehead Award for the outstanding single work – poem, short story, or graphic contribution to The Arrowhead during the year.

Shelby Vasich of Chatsworth, California, received the Rice, Andrews, Young Award.

The Elisabeth Scranton History Award was presented to Zachary Lecius, of Ft. Myers, Florida.

The Braun Award in Physics, established by 1934 alumna Anne Blodgett Bashore, was given to Sydney J. Goertzen, of Salisbury, Maryland, and Gemma M.F. Brown, of Salisbury.

George Mitchell Harris, of Greensboro, was presented the Chemistry Prize.

Recipients of the Mathematics Award were Federico Borrego Higareda, of Mexico City, and Branden Davis, of Thomasville.

Eleanor King, of Matthews, was the recipient of the Environment and Sustainability Award.

Zachary Alford, of Troutman, was the recipient of The Student Education Association/Cynthia B. Osterhus Award.

The College Chairman’s Award in Music went to Angel Paez, of Charlotte, and Jessica Yates, of Salisbury.

Emily L. Fogleman, of Liberty, received the Roberts Senior Psychology Award.

Brittney Lawhorn, of Midlothian, Va. was the recipient of the Sociology Award.

Hannah Mercer, of Lexington, received The Whitley Award.

Matthew Arnold, of Hillsboro, Oregon, was awarded the William L. Russell Award.

Nicole Grace Hall, of Statesville, received the Daniel E. Kirk Biology Award.

Emory T. McNeely, of Mooresville, received the Bruce A. Wentz Philosophy Award.

Hannah I. Hutchens, of Mocksville, received the Religion Award.

Zac Karvon, of Concord, received the Augustin Daly Award for Outstanding Student of the Year in Theatre Arts.

Rachel Martin, of Lexington, and Patrick Dissosway, of Lewisville, were co-recipients of the Paul L. Baker Computer Science Award.

Cassandra Damery, of Matthews, received the Nursing Academic Excellence Award.

Awards of special merit and achievement

Morgan Hester, of Salisbury, received the Dean Grove Award.

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award was given to student Emory McNeely, of Mooresville, and Earl Givens Jr., director of the Corriher-Linn-Black Library.

Catawba’s 2019-2020 Staff Member of the Year Award went to Nurse Kathi Welborn, of the health services department.

Edith Bolick, professor of sociology, was selected as Professor of the Year for 2019-2020.

The President’s Award for Staff Excellence was presented to Amy Williams, of the president’s office.

Phillip Burgess, associate chair of the music department and director of choral/vocal studies, was the recipient of the Swink Prize for Outstanding Classroom Teacher.

Edith Bolick, professor of sociology, received the Trustee Award for outstanding contribution to the college.

Whitener Medals recipients

The recipients of the Whitener Medals are Federico Borrego Higareda, of Mexico City, Mexico, and Emily L. Fogleman, of Liberty.