• 45°

Library notes — Stocked up with ebooks

By Abby Hardison
Rowan County Public Library

The RPL team has been stocking up on so many ebooks this spring for our patrons to enjoy from the comfort of their own homes. Whether you are into thrillers, historical fiction, mysteries, we’ve got it. And the best part? You never have to change out of your pajamas to browse, check out, read or return these titles. It’s like magic. Just download the Overdrive or Libby app on your device or access the North Carolina Digital Library on your computer and thousands of ebooks and audiobooks are at your fingertips. The book you want isn’t available? Place it on hold and you’ll be notified when it’s ready to read. You never have to worry about a missing page or a scratched CD either. And the best part? No return worries. When your item is due, it returns itself.

What are the new and hot titles? For the folks who like to be thrilled and chilled, first up is appropriately titled “The Chill” by Scott Carson. This tale is about a town in upstate New York that is flooded to create a lake, and the secrets are still down at the bottom. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz. Next up is “No Bad Deed” by Heather Chavez. RPL got this in print copy several weeks ago, and one of our staff members reviewed it so well we just had to get a digital copy. This nail-biter starts out with the main character witnessing an assault while driving down a deserted road. She makes the quick decision to intervene, but in doing so, leaves her identity vulnerable to the assailant. As dangerous and frightening events pile up, is this all the result of her selfless act? This title is perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner.

For the Jack Reacher fans, we’ve got treats for you. First up is the delightful novella collaboration with bestselling author Karin Slaughter, titled “Cleaning the Gold.” This exciting story brings together Lee Child’s Reacher and Slaughter’s Will Trent, as they meet up, both working undercover at Fort Knox. Except Will Trent is looking solve a crime that happened years ago in a small town, committed by a drifter; a mysterious and huge man who took down a dirty cop and got away with it. A description that uncannily fits a Mr. Jack Reacher. And if you like Lee Child and Vince Flynn you’ll probably enjoy “Without Sanction,” a new series by author Don Bentley. This thriller introduces you to Defense Intelligence Operative Matt Drake, who after a disastrous operation in Syria, is haunted by guilt and memories. But then a source inside an ISIS cell offers to change sides and bring in a dangerous weapon, Matt Drake is forced to confront his past to save his country.

It’s not all thrills and chills either. We’ve got heart-warmers and cozies too. Just check out Laura Trentham’s “An Everyday Hero,” Susan Mallery’s “Sisters By Choice,” and Jill Shalvis’s “Almost Just Friends.” If you have any questions about accessing our digital titles, just give us a call at 980-432-8670 or email us at info@rowancountync.gov . Trust us, once you try it, you’ll appreciate the convenience that ebooks can bring to your reading experience. Rowan Public Library has got your fiction needs covered!

Abby Hardison is adult services supervisor for the Rowan Public Library.

Comments

Local

City officials differ on how, what information should be released regarding viral K-9 officer video

High School

High school basketball: Carson girls are 3A champions

Lifestyle

High school, college sweethearts marry nearly 50 years later

Local

With jury trials set to resume, impact of COVID-19 on process looms

Legion baseball

Book explores life of Pfeiffer baseball coach Joe Ferebee

Education

Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education to receive update on competency-based education

Business

Biz Roundup: Kannapolis expects to see economic, housing growth continue in 2021

Business

A fixture of downtown Salisbury’s shopping scene, Caniche celebrates 15th anniversary this month

Local

Slate of new officers during local GOP convention; Rev. Jenkins becomes new chair

Landis

Landis officials narrow search for new manager to five candidates; expect decision within a month

Lifestyle

Together at last: High school, college sweethearts marry nearly 50 years later

Education

Rowan-Salisbury Schools sorts out transportation logistics in preparation for full-time return to classes

High School

Photo gallery: Carson goes undefeated, wins 3A state championship

Nation/World

Europe staggers as infectious variants power virus surge

Nation/World

Biden, Democrats prevail as Senate OKs $1.9 trillion virus relief bill

Nation/World

Senate Democrats strike deal on jobless aid, move relief bill closer to approval

News

Duke Life Flight pilot may have shut down wrong engine in fatal crash

News

Two NC counties get to participate in satellite internet pilot for students

Local

PETA protesters gather in front of police department

Coronavirus

UPDATED: Eight new COVID-19 deaths, 203 positives reported in county this week

Crime

Sheriff’s office: Two charged after suitcase of marijuana found in Jeep

Crime

Thomasville officer hospitalized after chase that started in Rowan County

Local

Board of elections discusses upgrading voting machines, making precinct changes

News

Lawmakers finalize how state will spend COVID-19 funds