• 70°

Two of three RSS school board members won’t seek reelection

By Carl Blankenship

SALISBURY — Josh Wagner and Susan Cox plan to let their terms expire this year without seeking another on the Rowan-Salisbury Schools Board of Education.

Cox has served two terms, and says she has appreciated the opportunity.

“Most of it I’ve really enjoyed, but I think it’s time for someone else to have that opportunity,” Cox said, adding she has family she wants to spend time with and be available to.

Cox said she is “thrilled” Rowan-Salisbury Schools was made a renewal district by the state, and she thinks renewal is “life-changing.”

“I think our school system is moving in the right direction,” Cox said.

She cited the Wallace Educational Forum as a signature achievement, even though the building was controversial at the time, as well as a years-long overhaul of district policies.

Wagner, who has also served two terms, hasn’t been shy about his intent not to run again leading up to 2020 and said he is not running again because he believes in term limits.

“I think if you truly believe in term limits it is something you should impose on yourself,” Wagner said.

Wagner said people at all levels of government can make a career out of being elected officials, and he believes officials should do everything they can in a set amount of time before they become burned out and less effective.

Wagner said he was proud to get new legal representation for the district, consolidate Cleveland and Woodleaf Elementary schools into the new West Rowan Elementary School and working on getting board meetings record on video. Wagner said he hopes the board moves forward with redistricting.

“That’s going to take some real focus,” Wagner said.

Alisha Byrd-Clark, first elected in 2016, is the only of the three incumbents with terms ending who will be seeking reelection. Byrd-Clark said she wants to return to the board due to her passion for youth and education, and that she wants to see the completion of Rowan-Salisbury Schools renewal plan as well as the completion of a new K-8 consolidated school, between Knox Middle and Overton Elementary.

Byrd-Clark said no board is perfect but she thinks the diverse opinions are steering the district in the right direction.

Kevin Jones, Travis Allen, Jean Kennedy and Dean Hunter each have terms stretching through 2022.

Byrd-Clark represents the Salisbury area, Wagner represents the East area and Cox represents the Southeast area.

Candidates for school board will file in the summer for the three seats on the ballot in November. There is no primary for the school board race.



David Freeze begins cross-country cycling journey in San Diego


Community remembrance events to focus on lynchings of the past, need for justice today


August issue of Salisbury the Magazine is now available


After 10 days, three hospitals, one diagnosis, Kassidy Sechler will return home


COVID-19 surging as North Carolina set to ease restrictions


Blotter: Police ask for help finding robbery suspect


Three Rivers Land Trust finalizes deal to double size of nature preserve in Spencer


Spin Doctors announced as headlining band for 2021 Cheerwine Festival

Ask Us

Ask Us: Readers ask about Hoffner murder case, ‘Fame’ location


Cornhole tournament at New Sarum Brewery brings out Panthers fans, raises money for charity


Blotter: Salisbury man charged for breaking and entering, burglary tools


Senators race to overcome final snags in infrastructure deal


Child killed in Monroe drive-by shooting; 1 arrested


Rowan County Chamber of Commerce’s Dragon Boat race returns after year hiatus


Marker commemorating Jim Crow-era lynchings in Rowan County, racial injustice required years of work


Identified Marine was a Salisbury native, served in WWII


Rowan County sees COVID-19 cases coming more quickly, remains in middle tier for community spread


Cleveland plans to build walking trail, community barn quilt mural

High School

High school athletics: Male Athlete of the Year Walker in league of once-in-a-generation players


Young entrepreneur learns lesson of responsibility by raising quail, selling eggs


Historic McCanless House sold, buyers plan on converting home into events venue


Library’s Summer Reading Week 10 has virtual storytime, last chance to log hours


Positive COVID test knocks DeChambeau out of Olympics


College football: North grad Delaney ready for next challenges at Johnson C. Smith