West Rowan Middle wrestling, 15-0, wins regular season title

Published 11:28 pm Thursday, December 19, 2019

Staff report

SALISBURY — West Rowan Middle School’s wrestling team Bulldogs finished the regular season with a perfect 15-0 record, then were co-champs with Mooresville in last weekend’s tournament.

The Bulldogs were 14-0 in conference matches and won a non-conference match over Piedmont, 63-30, on Dec. 3. West’s average score in dual matches was 72-28.

Four West wrestlers — Stetson Collins (17-0), Dakota Athey (17-0), Tyler Cline (16-0) and Grayson Burleson (16-0) — were undefeated for the season, including the tournament.

Collins lead the team in individual points with 90 and team scoring with 89 points.  He also had a team-high 12 pins.

Tyler Cline had a school-record fastest pin, recording one in 8 seconds.

Mooresville, which finished behind West in the regular season at 12-2, was able to tie the Bulldogs, 209-209, for the co-championship, at last Saturday’s tournament, held at North Rowan High School gym.

The most outstanding wrestlers of the RCMS Tournament were Matthew Davis (lower weight) and Mason Kincaid (upper weight), both of Corriher-Lipe. Davis upset the No. 1 seed, Mooresville’s Jason Shutt, 11-3. Kincaid was able to win his award by pinning his way through the bracket.

West had six gold medalists — Collins, Cline, Athey, Burleson, Hunter Miller and John Michael Carter. Mooresville also had six gol medalists — Austin Emmert, Cody Roudabush, Noah Laws, Johnny Merrimen, Omar Raza and Brady Raab.

Rowan County Middle School Conference

Regular Season    Record

West Rowan        14-0

Mooresville         12-2

Erwin                   10-4

Southeast             6-8

Corriher-Lipe      5-9

North Rowan      5-9

Knox                     3-11

China Grove        1-13

Tournament       Points

West Rowan        209

Mooresville         209

Erwin                   126

Corriher-Lipe      90

Southeast             78

China Grove        39

Knox                     21

North Rowan      16