• 68°

Education shoutouts

Grant winners

Submitted photo Cheyenne Smith and Jasmine Wiitala of Catawba College received a Yarbrough grant for research.

Overton Elementary

First quarter honor roll scholars from Overton Elementary.

All A honor roll:

Third grade: Dylan Bellinger, Jaxon Benion, Mia Conforti, Myha Duenaz Reyes, Katie Green, Gwen Hill, Camden Honeycutt, Christopher Lindsay, Mysion Mingo, Lucas Oden, Emily Preslar, Aniyah Staley, Jeffrey Stephenson, Graham Wilson.

Fourth grade: Cristian Bamaca Diaz, Eva Bolin, Anna Chamberlain, Bobby Cunningham, Gavin Hall, Mason Hall, Dorian Henthorn, Hiram Hopkins-Teeter, Skyler Lawson, Camille Turner.

Fifth grade: Lia Anariba Rivera, Elissa Burns, Donald Clement, Constantine Cook, Troy Davies, Nicholas Eppehimer, Grant Hill, Delilah Lamanna, Nolt Lescoe, Lily Mendia, Walan Peek, Bruce Phillips III, Carol Resendiz, Elisha Shelton, Jacy Yerena.

A-B honor roll:

Third grade: Janeth Bautista-Servin, Andre Bolden, Lily Cox, Jaiylah Feaster, Ja’brel Robertson, Gabriela Rosero, Kyilen Sellers.

Fourth grade: Keagan Benion, Aalayah Cochran, Lindsay Cruz Avila, Gracie Dale, Kennedy Drye, Josue Garcia Marquez, Phlorence Lee, Denasia McCauley, Al Mitchell, Evan Moujahed, Bryan Turcios, Luke Yang, Logan Yates.

Fifth grade: Olivia Austin, Carissa Burns, Mya Craig, Kenneth Cruz-Alvarado, Logan Culp, Ethan Godfrey, Gabrielle Hamilton, Aliyah Horton, Jamon King, Ja’Maya McConnaughey, Haley McCullough, Malachi McHenry, Madison Ratcliffe, Kamiah Stockdale, Mia Streater, Jordan Williams.

Catawba students win science awards

Three students in the Catawba College biology program received North Carolina Academy of Sciences (NCAS) Yarbrough awards for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The statewide grant offers opportunities for research, and the Catawba students received two of the four grants awarded.

Austin Snide received the grant for his research, “Eggshell Organizing Factor 1 Protein in Psorophora ferox Mosquitoes,” working with adviser Dr. Carmony L. Hartwig, associate professor of biology.

Also receiving the grant were Jasmine Wiitala and Cheyenne Smith, who partnered for the project, “Investigating the Antimicrobial Properties of Local Versus Non-Local Honey on Human Microbiota.” Their grant was sponsored by adviser Dr. Steven Coggin, professor emeritus of biology.

The student researchers began work on their projects in August with Hartwig and plan to present their findings at several local, regional and national scientific conferences, including NCAS.

The Yarbrough Research Grants program supports undergraduate research.

Knox Middle School

Knox Middle School Quarter 1 A honor roll:

Sixth grade: Kennedi Fisher, Leanna Ford, Juarez Garrido, Cheancy Knox II, Daniela Salazar Sola, Julia Shelton, Eric Williams, Brooklynne Witherspoon.

Seventh grade: Ella Lockhart, Melanie Salazar, Makara Trick.

Eighth grade: Sheenya Daugherty, Kailena Fuchtman, Alexis Gilbert, Salei Seisay.

Hurley Elementary

 The following students made All A honor roll at Hurley Elementary:
 Third grade: Da’Vieon Borders, Gavin Horne, Vamusa Jabateh, Adriana Jaramillo, Christian Landaverde Aldana, Lilah Singleton and Dakota Winecoff.

Fourth grade: Aaliyah Allison, Terrell Chandler, Taliyah Freeman, Matthew Jones, Calla Mowery, Abigail Pritchard and William Serrano Trinh.

Fifth grade: Faith Barton, Kanaiyah Crump, Richard Fontes, Peyton Hand, Ian Hannold, Rylee Hedrick, Landon Hurst Garcia, Makagbeh Jabateh, Andy Nguyen, Emma Sutton and Tucker Sutton.

Faith Elementary

Students were recognized at Faith Elementary School.

Good Citizens: Chloe Javurek, Iszabella Davis, Atticus Shehan, Nathan Losey, Brooks Moody, Lucas Coffey, Sarah Potvin, James Ivey, Madalynn Ashby, Ayden Blevins.

Good Deed Doers: Holden Roach, Bailey Page, Kyleigh McIntyre, Millie Gardner, Matthew Naves, Madeline Griffin, Anna Savage, Cayden Blevins, Rowdy Herge, Madison Trexler.



Rowan Sheriff’s Office K-9s to receive bulletproof vests


Man charged with sex offense, raping teen


Commissioners receive analysis of county’s development application process


Man arrested in Spencer in connection with Charlotte murder investigation


County government losing assistant manager, social services director


RSS will collect information on full K-5 return


KCS sees smooth transition back to classes, unlikely to transition to all in-person for K-5


Barrett emerges as court favorite; Trump to pick by weekend


Tillis says Trump will extend offshore drilling pause to NC


12% of all Rowan COVID-19 cases currently active


Blotter: Concord man faces drug charges after hotel disturbance call


Rockwell teen charged with rape of a 14-year-old girl


Police: Charlotte man caught stealing funeral home employee’s truck


Rowan Social Services director takes new job in New Hanover County; Heidrick to retire

Ask Us

Ask us: Will masks be required in Rowan County polling locations?


Political Notebook: Tillis, Cunningham differ on when to fill SCOTUS vacancy


Local state trooper, firefighter returns home after Army deployment


Blast from the past: Concordia Lutheran Church opens time capsule from previous century


Blotter: Salisbury man charged with damaging video camera, tresspassing


North Carolina man faces over 300 sex-related charges


Coastal flooding along Outer Banks closes roads


GOP hopeful Supreme Court battle will help shift election


‘Better chance of succeeding’: Moody, colleagues reflect on tenure, retirement


Collecting garbage: Locals work to beautify High Rock Lake during Clean Sweep