Catawba wants more students from Rowan and Davie counties

Published 12:00 am Thursday, September 26, 2019

SALISBURY — Catawba College’s new “stay-local” initiative will recruit high school and college transfer students from Rowan and Davie counties. The program guarantees 50% of tuition and fees in scholarships.

The Rowan-Davie County Catawba Commitment scholarship program will begin with the spring 2020 semester, for Rowan and Davie high school students who have earned a 3.5 grade point average and Rowan and Davie transfer students from two- or four-year institutions, providing they are transferring with more than 24 credit hours and have a 3.5 GPA.

Davidson County Community College has a satellite campus on U.S. 601 in Davie County, less than 20 minutes from Catawba, as well as campuses in Lexington and Thomasville. Rowan-Cabarrus Community College has a North campus in Salisbury and a South campus in Concord.

Any student enrolled full time at those colleges and meeting the requirements, regardless of home county, can take advantage of the opportunity to transfer to Catawba.

“Catawba has always been about access and opportunities,” said college President Brien Lewis. “The Rowan-Davie County Catawba Commitment is about ensuring that we provide access to 21st-century learning opportunities for members of our host community.”

Also offered to these students is free tuition for one class per semester, with these stipulations:

• Students at DCCC or RCCC must be enrolled full time.

• Qualified high school juniors and seniors in Rowan and Davie counties must have a written recommendation from a guidance counselor with a transcript of all high school academic work to date, as well as at least one set of standardized test scores (SAT, ACT, PSAT or PLAN). The plan offers an opportunity to take courses at Catawba while still in high school, with credit earned in this program counted toward hours needed for graduation at Catawba. Acceptance of these credits by other institutions is at the discretion of those officials.

• Students can take one course tuition-free each fall and spring, not to exceed four tuition-free courses total. Students may exceed one course per semester at their expense, and joint enrollment registration is subject to availability.

Beginning immediately, the program also offers students of DCCC and RCCC the following:

• Free admission to Catawba home athletic events with a current college student ID, unless Catawba students are also charged, such as conference and NCAA tournaments.

• The opportunity to become a member of and perform with the Catawba marching and pep bands.

• Free admission to Catawba theater and music performances.

The program also includes a scholarship for first-year students from Rowan and Davie counties who choose to live on campus. These students may apply for the Woodson Scholars Program (funding provided by the Woodson Foundation) to receive additional scholarship toward room and board — as much as $500 a year, renewable for four years. Applicants must apply by Jan. 15 each year.

In addition, Latinas in Rowan County who are 11th-grade girls may participate in a tuition-free college course at Catawba through the Unanue Scholars Program. The course allows students to explore — in  an all-female class — their own culture, while receiving instruction in academic skills crucial for college.

Students are paired with well-trained mentors chosen from Catawba’s Latina population. Through group meals and field trips, the mentors will serve as role models and offer advice on campus life.

For more information, visit or the following:

• High school students in Rowan County may contact David Stevenson at 704-637-4238 or

• High school students in Davie County may contact Elaine Holden at 704-637-4402 or

• Transfer students may contact Alycia Parsons at 704-637-4587 or