High school football: West’s Hassard named to Shrine Bowl roster

Published 3:32 am Monday, September 16, 2019

Staff report

West Rowan offensive lineman Jonny Hassard  (6-5, 270) was named on Sunday to the North Carolina roster that will compete in the 2019 Shrine Bowl.

The game, which pits the best in the state against their South Carolina counterparts, is scheduled for Dec. 21 at Wofford College in Spartanburg. S.C. Kickoff is at 1 p.m.

Rowan County players named to play in the Shrine Bowl game since 2000.

James Francis, West 2000
Jarrett Wishon, North 2000
Alfonzo Miller, North 2001
Ben Weisensel, East 2003
Ronald Foxx, North 2003
Tristan Dorty, West 2006
David Melton, West 2006
Ibn Ali, Salisbury 2007
Chris Smith, West 2009
K.P. Parks, West 2009
Charles Holloway, West 2010
Domonique Noble, West 2010
Hunter Mashburn, West 2011
MyQuon Stout, Carson 2013
JaReke Chambers, North 2014
Seth Wyrick, East 2014
Hezekiah Banks, West 2015
Kortez Weeks, West 2016
Jonny Hassard, West 2019


2019 NC roster:

  • Jonathan Adomo (Rolesville)
  • Adam Atkins (Southeast Guilford)
  • Jefferson Boaz (East Surry)
  • Devan Boykin (Ragsdale)
  • Jaki Brevard (Southern Durham)
  • Elijah Burnette (Eastern Alamance)
  • Elijah Burris (Mountain Island Charter)
  • Trey Byers (Ashbrook)
  • Chance Carroll (Hough)
  • Anthony Carter, Jr. (Butler)
  • Roe Chitwood (Myers Park)
  • Will Cobb (Weddington)
  • Ja’Qurious Conley (Northside-Jacksonville)
  • Quinton Cooley (Southern Nash)
  • Grant Copeland (West Forsyth)
  • Cameron Dalrymple (Wallace-Rose Hill)
  • Nick Dobson (Wallace-Rose Hill)
  • Desmond Evans (Lee County)
  • Maliek Faust (Harding University)
  • Tavien Ford (Olympic)
  • Taurienne Freeman (Westover)
  • Cedric Gray (Ardrey Kell)
  • Ray Grier (South Point)
  • Jonny Hassard (West Rowan)
  • Maquel Haywood (Wake Forest)
  • Joshua Karty (Western Alamance)
  • Jonathan King (Southeast Guilford)
  • Ahmani Marshall (East Forsyth)
  • Mitchell Mayes (Leesville Road)
  • J’Vian McCray (West Brunswick)
  • Malik McGowen (Charlotte Catholic)
  • Alec Mock (Weddington)
  • Chris Morgan (Maiden)
  • Darius Ocean (Hough)
  • Javondre Paige (Page)
  • Jhari Patterson (AC Reynolds)
  • Stephen Sings (Vance)
  • Chance Smith (Wake Forest)
  • Adrian Spellman (Northeastern)
  • Da’Qon “Bobo” Stewart (North Mecklenburg)
  • Stefon Thompson (Vance)
  • Davin Vann (Cary)
  • Shane Whitter (Williams)
  • G’Mone Wilson (West Forsyth)