• 82°

Committee formed to search for new Catawba College president

SALISBURY — Catawba College has named a committee to search for a new president.

Board of trustees Chairman Bill Graham named Bob Arnold, a consultant and retired furniture industry executive from Hickory, to be chairman of the committee. Mark Alexander, an attorney from Jacksonville, Florida, who is a partner in the firm Alexander, DeGance and Barnett, is vice chairman.

The committee includes seven faculty members and 10 alumni, as well as four cabinet and staff members. 

The college announced earlier this month that President Brien Lewis would not seek to renew his contract for the 2020-21 academic year.

The search committee will focus on finding a replacement who will ensure that Catawba continues to provide a transformative education for its students, according to a statement by the college. As higher education continues to change, Catawba needs a progressive leader who is willing to make decisions and take the necessary steps to keep the college competitive, the statement said. 

“We’re not just trying to fill a job vacancy,” said Graham. “We want the right person for the future of Catawba. The next leader of Catawba must embrace, promote and foster the school’s need to ‘grow with distinction’ and must integrate well with the culture of Catawba but also be a good fit for the Salisbury-Rowan community.”

The committee will meet soon to decide if the selection process will be in house or if it will hire a search consultant.

“We want them to take their time and be as thorough and comprehensive as possible,” said Graham. 

Faculty members of the search committee are:

• Constance Rogers-Lowery, provost and professor of biology.

• Maria Vandergriff-Avery, professor of sociology, director of the honors program and vice chairwoman of the faculty Senate.

• Forrest Anderson, associate provost and associate professor of English.

• Luke Dollar, professor of environment and sustainability and department chairman.

• Earl Givens, director of library services.

• Jim Hand, dean of the School of Health Sciences and Human Performance.

• Buster Smith, associate professor of sociology, department chairman and faculty Senate chairman.

 Board of trustees and alumni committee members are:

• Mark Alexander, Class of 1981.

• Bob Arnold, Class of 1971.

• Dan Bross, Class of 1971.

• Randy Crumpler, Class of 1975.

• Tom Dennard, Class of 1977.

• Barry Leonard, Class of 1965 (emeritus).

• Barbara Marshall, Class of 1972.

• Deborah Messinger, Class of 1974.

• Dick Seiwell, Class of 1967.

• Lee Syria.

• Sally Whitney, Class of 1977.

 Cabinet and staff committee members are:

• Drew Davis, general counsel and director of human resources.

• Meg Kluttz Dees, vice president of development.

• Nelson Murphy, executive vice president and chief financial officer.

• Jared Tice, senior vice president for the college experience and dean of students.



Blotter: Shooters mistakenly fire bullets into woman’s West Kerr Street house


Light installation could delay Bell Tower Green opening, but formal event still set for Sept. 10


Kannapolis restroom listed among top 10 in the country, vying for top spot


Mixed-use development planned near Atrium Health Ballpark


Little League softball: Rowan plays for regional championship, qualifies for World Series


CDC changes course on indoor masks in some parts of the US


Racism of rioters takes center stage in Jan. 6 hearing


State briefs: Woman accused of taking baby to break-in


Man pleads guilty to 4 Asian spa killings, sentenced to life


Rowan health director says COVID-19 deaths preventable as county sees No. 315


Rowan County Planning Board denies Reaper’s Realm rezoning request after opposition from neighbors


Catawba College’s Newman Park renovations grow more extensive


David Freeze begins cross-country cycling journey in San Diego


Community remembrance events to focus on lynchings of the past, need for justice today


August issue of Salisbury the Magazine is now available


After 10 days, three hospitals, one diagnosis, Kassidy Sechler will return home


COVID-19 surging as North Carolina set to ease restrictions


Blotter: Police ask for help finding robbery suspect


Three Rivers Land Trust finalizes deal to double size of nature preserve in Spencer


Spin Doctors announced as headlining band for 2021 Cheerwine Festival

Ask Us

Ask Us: Readers ask about Hoffner murder case, ‘Fame’ location


Cornhole tournament at New Sarum Brewery brings out Panthers fans, raises money for charity


Blotter: Salisbury man charged for breaking and entering, burglary tools


Senators race to overcome final snags in infrastructure deal