Rowan-Cabarrus Student Government Association takes top award

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 13, 2019

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

SALISBURY — The Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Student Government Association won the Top “C” award as the best overall campus at the 2019 spring North Carolina Comprehensive Community College Student Government Association banquet in Raleigh.

The Top “C” award is presented to the school that demonstrates the qualities most consistent with the community tradition expected from the 58 institutions in the North Carolina Community College System. Rowan-Cabarrus was chosen based on its association’s promotion of involvement, citizenship and interaction of students on campus, as well as in the community.

Eva Nicholson, the 2018-19 Rowan-Cabarrus association president, won the statewide Eddie H. Myers Outstanding Advocacy Award. During his tenure at Rowan-Cabarrus, Myers was tireless in his commitment to community college students, particularly those involved in student government. The award bearing his name is presented to an individual who is committed to advocacy and implementing positive change on campus and in the community.

Nicholson was recognized for her leadership and ability to motivate others to embrace change.

Nicholson also won the Ray Jefferies Award, which honors a student who has shown outstanding leadership and support for the N.C. Comprehensive Community College Student Government Association. Jefferies made significant contributions to the creation and success of the association. The award is given by its executive board to honor a student who has displayed leadership and support for the organization.