• 88°

Graduation 2019: Salisbury High School scholarships

The following scholarships were awarded to Salisbury High School graduates:

Academy of Art University Scholarship: Gwendalyn Watkins.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Scholarship: Choyce Davis, Kiera Cherry.

American Red Cross Scholarship: Roxanna Henriquez.

Anne Stanback-Charlotte Kinlock Scholarship: Gwendalyn Watkins.

Appalachian State University Scholarship: Ernesto Tinajero.

Ave Maria University Club Sport Scholarship: Ethan Frank.

Ave Maria University Leadership Scholarship: Ethan Frank.

Barrell Bottom Boat Company Scholarship: Timothy Boyd Jr.

BEC Impact Scholarship: Gwendalyn Watkins.

Boyden Women Class of 1961 Scholarship: Elizabeth Ann Graeber.

Carolina Covenant Scholarship: Kiera Cherry.

Catawba College Dean’s Scholarship: Stephania Tavira-Ramirez.

Catawba College NCNB Scholarship: Stephania Tavira-Ramirez.

Catawba College Trustee Scholarship: Jenifer Castillo-Pacas.

Chowan University Alumni Scholarship: Tayvion Ward.

CIS Vicky Slusser Scholarship: Choyce Davis, Kevion Chunn.

Clifford Peeler Humanitarian Scholarship: Olivia Dagenhart.

Community Blood Center Scholarship: Stephania Tavira-Ramirez.

Crosby Scholars For Life Scholarship: Donovan Kerns.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Scholarship: Kiera Cherry, Choyce Davis.

Dorothy Click Fesperman Scholarship: Elizabeth Ann Graeber, Rebecca Lewis, Carsyn Parrott, Harrison Parrott.

Elk’s Club Don Stout Memorial Scholarship: Ian Walworth.

Elsie B. King Valedictorian Scholarship: Ellen Simons.

Eunice Riggins Scholarship: Mary-Catherine Berger.

F&M Bank Scholarship: Jade Rowh.

First Presbyterian 365 Disciple Scholarship: Zachary Robinette.

First Presbyterian Appreciation Scholarship: Roarke Burton, Zachary Robinette.

Furman University Bell Tower Scholarship: Zachary Johnson.

Gardner Webb University Academic Scholarship: Bobby Rusher.

Gardner Webb University Athletic Scholarship: Bobby Rusher.

Gardner Webb University Provost Scholarship: Tenijah Smith, Raheim Walker.

Gemstones & Compass Scholarship: Kiera Cherry.

Golden Leaf Scholarship: Spencer Blackwell.

Hampton University Merit Scholarship: Choyce Davis.

Hugh B. Lyerly Scholarship: David Holden.

Imagine America Scholarship: Gwendalyn Watkins.

Jack Campbell Scholarship: David Holden.

Jackson-Ford Next Step Scholarship: Chania Tabor, Arrawn Yang.

JM McDuffie Scholarship: Kevion Chunn.

John C. Campbell Memorial Scholarship: Mary-Catherine Berger, Kevion Chunn.

John O. Reynolds Scholarship: Spencer Blackwell.

Key Club Core Values Scholarship: Roarke Burton.

Kweenish Scholarship: Choyce Davis, Makayla Dillard.

Lenoir-Rhyne NCNB Scholarship: Roxanna Henriquez.

Lenoir-Rhyne Scholars Scholarship: Roxana Henriquez.

Linda Ketner Community Service Scholarship: Kevion Chunn.

Mary-Rose Mills- Linda Rankin Memorial Scholarship: Roarke Burton.

Mississippi State Freshman Academic Excellence Scholarship: Timothy Boyd Jr.

Mississippi State Tuition Scholarship: Timothy Boyd Jr.

Montreat College Anderson Merit Scholarship: Shyla Horton.

Morton S. Lerner Memorial Civitan Scholarship: Blake Clark.

Windsor Eagle Athletic Scholarship: Kevion Chunn, Jander Rodas-Palacios, Carsyn Parrot.

New York Life Family Scholars Scholarship: Elizabeth Ann Graeber.

North Carolina Education Lottery Scholarship: Spencer Blackwell, Ryan Lutz.

Pfeiffer University NCNB Scholarship: Makayla Dillard, LyXharia Rogers.

Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship: Makayla Dillard, LyXharia Rogers.

R.A. Clement Association Scholarship: Myreonni Wells.

Roger & Linda Hull Scholarship: Rebecca Lewis.

Rotary Scholarship: Zamaih Pressley.

Rowan County PTSA Scholarship: Olivia Dagenhart, Joel Davies, Jack Fisher, Ellen Simons.

Russell E. Heiligson Jr. Scholarship: Joel Davies.

Salisbury Endowment Scholarship: Madison Mowery.

Salisbury Lion’s Club Scholarship: Jade Rowh.

Scott Rierson Scholarship: David Holden.

SHS APPLE Fund Scholarship: Elizabeth Ann Graeber.

SHS PTSA Scholarship I: Roarke Burton.

SHS PTSA Scholarship II: Mary-Catherine Berger.

Thomas E. Gilbert & Viola H. Bailey Scholarship: Olivia Dagenhart.

Trelleborg Apprenticeship: Jareese Lee.

UNCC Tuition Scholarship: Ximena Farfan-Perez.

UNCG Spartan Scholarship: Kevin Hidalgo.

UNCW Academic Scholarship: Jack Fisher.

UNCW Athletic Scholarship: Jack Fisher.

Wingate University Athletic Scholarship: Bryanna Troutman.

Wingate University NCNB Scholarship: Mary-Catherine Berger.

Wingate University Presidential Scholarship: Mary-Catherine Berger.

Wingate University True Homes Scholarship: Mary-Catherine Berger.



East Rowan High graduate killed in motorcycle crash


Political Notebook: Gov. Cooper vetoes Ford-backed bill allowing firearms at churches that are also schools


Blotter: June 21


Body of fourth tuber, age 7, found in North Carolina river


8 kids in youth van among the 13 lives lost to Claudette


Hundreds turn out for annual Juneteenth celebration on newest federal holiday


Between local champions and an upcoming state tournament, pickleball putting Salisbury on map


Business leaders hope to draw big crowd for job fair at West End Plaza


Officers cleared in Mooresville shooting


From firefighter to photographer, Brianna Mitschele is ready to capture more moments in downtown Salisbury


25 years later, runners reflect on Olympic torch’s trip through Rowan


Commissioners to consider designating Newberry Hall House as county historic landmark

Farm & Garden

51st annual Old Southeast Threshers’ Reunion set for July 1-5


Biz Roundup: St. Luke’s Episcopal Church Foundation awards grants from Salisbury to Jerusalem


Kristy Woodson Harvey: For Dad


South Salisbury Fire Department activates new weather siren


Library Notes: Meet the ‘Dare Devil Dogs’ in Week 5


Q&A with Bishop Tim Smith


Wolfpack tops Stanford falls in College World Series opener


‘Down by the Praise Pond’ shares local author’s faith in debut children’s book


Driver crashes into crowd at Pride parade in Florida; 1 dead


Search continues after 3 tubers die, 2 disappear at dam


Research from NC State professors is aboard space station


Livingstone College celebrates federal recognition of Juneteenth