• 64°

Livingstone athletics awards announced for all sports

End of year awards for the Blue Bears

File photo by Wayne Hinshaw/for the Salisbury Post … Livingstone female athlete of the year Daisa Harris.

Staff report

SALISBURY — Livingstone College Athletic department recognized its top student-athletes at the annual year-end ceremony. Livingstone’s athletics staff selected its top performers from the current school year.

Various athletes from each sport were recognized for their sportsmanship, dedication, charity, and athletic achievement. Every year, the coaches present a Most Valuable Player, Coach’s Award, Academic and Rookie of the Year awards.

The coaching staff and support staff meet to elect recipients of the Fred Ponder Athletic Director’s Award, Alfred Tyler Male Athlete of the Year, Beverly Downing Female Athlete of the Year, Fletcher Jones Coach of the Year and Manager of the Year.

Women’s basketball — MVP: Daisa Harris; Coach’s award: Linda Galay;   Academic award: Darra Walker; Rookie of the year: Karemee Copeland.

Men’s basketball — MVP: Roger Ray; Coach’s award: JcCory Livingston; Academic award: Navar Elmore; Rookie of the year: Cameron Carpenter.

Women’s Bowling — MVP: Demetria Jacobs; Coach’s award: Alexus Franklin; Academic award: Shakeyma Meadows; Rookie of the year: Chanel Williams.

Women’s cross country — MVP: Angel Ewell; Coach’s award: Asia Green;  Academic award: Ciera Oliver-Ratcliff; Rookie of the year: Jaela Norman.

Men’s cross country — MVP: Tyreese Jones; Coach’s award: Aaron Thompson;  Academic award: Martel Curtis; Rookie of the year: Michael Toney.

Women’s track and field — MVP: Gabrielle Glasco; Coach’s award: Ashley Wingo; Academic award: Ashley Wingo; Rookie of the year: Shania Darrell.

Men’s track and field — MVP: Raymond McGuire; Coach’s award: Aaron Thompson; Academic award: Kenyon Blackshear; Rookie of the year: Cameron Cunningham.

Football — MVP: Team defense; Coach’s award Xavier Longerbeam; Academic award: Alfred Patrick; Rookie of the year: Miles Hayes.

Volleyball — MVP: Jekisha Rhymes; Coach’s award: Aija Long; Academic award: Jekisha Rhymes; Rookie of the year: Victoria Onozie.

Softball — MVP: Jamie Tolkkinen; Coach’s award: Rebecca Brown; Academic award: Shanai Morton; Rookie of the year: Lauryn Gray.

Women’s tennis — MVP: Samone Mitchell; Coach’s award: Mariah Mason;  Academic award: Paula Ngunza; Rookie of the year: Jamyse Bell.

Men’s golf — MVP: Alex Stewart; Coach’s award: Michael Sutton; Academic award: Marcus Thompson; Rookie of the year: Okwong Titus.

Cheerleading — MVP: Alexis Mitchell; Coach’s award: Ace Gray; Academic award: Loren Mitchell; Rookie of the year: Devaris Dancy.


Fred Ponder Athletic Director’s Award — Roger Ray, men’s basketball.

Beverly Downing Female Athlete of the Year — Daisa Harris, women’s basketball.

Alfred Taylor Male Athlete of the Year — Everett Ransom football.

Fletcher Jones Coach of the Year — Rodney Hughey, football defensive coordinator.

Manager of the Year Award — Shaquan Fields, football and track & field.



Police: Charlotte man caught stealing funeral home employee’s truck


Rowan Social Services director takes new job in New Hanover County; Heidrick to retire

Ask Us

Ask us: Will masks be required in Rowan County polling locations?


Political Notebook: Tillis, Cunningham differ on when to fill SCOTUS vacancy


Local state trooper, firefighter returns home after Army deployment


Blast from the past: Concordia Lutheran Church opens time capsule from previous century


Blotter: Salisbury man charged with damaging video camera, tresspassing


North Carolina man faces over 300 sex-related charges


Coastal flooding along Outer Banks closes roads


GOP hopeful Supreme Court battle will help shift election


‘Better chance of succeeding’: Moody, colleagues reflect on tenure, retirement


Collecting garbage: Locals work to beautify High Rock Lake during Clean Sweep


Salisbury man grateful parents’ story has impacted many


Celtics take big lead and hold on to top Heat 117-106


Downtown Salisbury ‘moving swiftly’ with developers interested in Empire Hotel


From fantasy to fact, Cherry builds a Hobbit House at his Treesort


Biz Roundup: CSP seeking to hire 100 new employees for plant expansion


Police, sheriff focus on education in addressing mask-wearing complaints


Candidates for East Area school board seat have widely different views on renewal


Cannon Mills’ whistle sounds again, brings nostalgia with it


UPDATED: Outbreak at jail annex over; new cases emerge at Kannapolis facility


In Senate race, Tillis calibrates ties to Trump


5 Charlotte officers recommended for dismissal after death in custody


Trump, Biden hit unlikely battleground state of Minnesota