Area Sports Briefs: West rallies to beat Cavs

Published 1:22 am Thursday, March 28, 2019

From staff reports

MOUNT ULLA — Trailing 8-2 in the fifth, West Rowan exploded for 13 runs and rallied to beat North Rowan in non-conference baseball on Wednesday, 15-10.

Daniel Durham, J.T. Fecteau and Cameron Graham drove in two runs apiece for the Falcons (7-3). Graham scored three runs. Steven Smith and Payne Stolsworth had doubles.

Logan Stoner and Charlie Durham had three hits each for the Cavaliers. Jordan Goodine had two hits, including a double.

Goodine, Durham and Gavin Kuld had two RBIs each.

Scout Nichols (1-0) got the win, allowing two runs  in a three-inning relief stint.

Chase Shoaf (0-1), the second of three North hurlers, took the loss.

West had 14 hits and took advantage of six North errors.

North (0-10) had 11 hits.


CONCORD — East Rowan lost at Cox Mill on Wednesday in a non-conference baseball game, 7-2.

Bailey Gentile pitched six strong innings for the Chargers (9-3) and limited the Mustangs (5-7) to five hits.

Nick Pratico and Michael Lewis had extra-base hits for Cox Mill.

Jake Davis  started on the mound for East and pitched two scoreless innings. Wayne Mize (0-1) took the loss.

Cox Mill scored five unearned runs in the fifth to take a 7-0 lead.


North Stanly overpowered Gray Stone in Yadkin Valley Conference play on Wednesday, 16-2.

Jacob Clayton was the winning pitcher. Brody Lowder had three hits. Drew Little and Cobb Russell drove in three runs apiece.


Calen Grider had three hits and scored four runs as Northwest Cabarrus clobbered Statesville in Wednesday’s non-conference game, 18-4.

HS boys golf

Oak Grove shot 154 to win Wednesday’s Central Carolina Conference golf match at Warrior.

Oak Grove’s Cayden Bryner shot 33.

Salisbury took third place at 173, with Hank Robins (41) and Luke Graeber (42) leading the Hornets.

South Rowan finished seventh at 182. Andrew Coward (39) and Andrew Jackson (40) led the Raiders.


East Rowan won a North Piedmont Conference match at McCanless on Wednesday.

The Mustangs shot 161. South Iredell was second at 164.

Colby Patterson shot 35. Austin Miller shot 38, despite some sickness. Alex Miller shot 41.

Colby Lovingood’s 41 could not be counted because he was East’s sixth golfer and a top five had to be designated before the match.

East won on coach Rhett Teems’ 20th wedding anniversary.

Ethan Scarborough shot 40 to lead third-place Carson.

Davis Tadlock and McGwire Owen shot 44s for West Rowan.

HS boys tennis

Carson (4-1 NPC) won against North Iredell 6-3 in a North Piedmont Conference match on Wednesday.

Ethen Fespermen, Cameron Dunn, Nathaniel Kimball and Andrew Beaver won in singles for the Cougars. Doubles winners were Avery Paschal/Fesperman and Thomas Bost/Kimball.

Carson hosts NW Cabarrus today.


North Rowan defeated Uwharrie Charter in Yadkin Valley Conference action on Wednesday, 8-1.

Winning in singles were Hans Roemer,  J.D. Hager,  Terrance Settlemeyer,  Arizona Day and Garrett Jennings.   Winning in doubles for the Cavs were Roemer/Hager, Settlemeyer/Ray Montes and Day/Jennings.


Ethan McGee, Sean Archer, Leo Schiavinato, Jander Rodas-Palacios, Juan Salazar and Parker Chmiel won singles matches in Salisbury’s 9-0 Central Carolina Conference win against Lexington  on Wednesday. McGee/Schianavato, Archer/Rodas-Palacios and Salazar/Chmiel won in doubles.

Salisbury (12-0) will play at home today against Central Davidson at 4:30 p.m.

HS wrestling

Carson’s Josh Vega was voted the  Dutch Meyer Wrestler of the Year award by the county’s coaches.

HS softball

Salisbury won against Statesville in Wednesday’s non-conference game, 14-4.

Ellen Yang went 4-for-4 with two homers and five RBIs. Yang and Caroline Harrill had doubles.

Alli Tuck 2 RBIs.

Yang struck out 11 Hounds.


West Rowan lost to Alexander Central, the defending 3A champs, 2-0, on Wednesday in a non-conference game. Alexander Central scored two runs in the sixth.

West’s Whitley Arnott struck out 11, with no walks and no earned runs. She allowed four hits.

Faith Carrigan held the Falcons to three hits and struck out nine.

Kenadi Sproul, KK Dowling and Arnott had hits for the Falcons (8-2).

SAC Hall of Fame

The South Atlantic Conference will induct six members into the 2019 Hall of Fame Class.

Receiving honors will be Mars Hill alum Craig Eckstein, Catawba alumna Danyel Locklear Jolicoeur, Wingate alum David Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne alumna Meredith O’Connor and former Mars Hill University men’s basketball coach and athletic director David Riggins.   

Locklear Jolicoeur helped Catawba women’s basketball to three conference titles (2001, 2003, 2004) and a pair of league tournament titles (2001, 2004).   

She was named SAC Player of the Year in 2004.