Kannapolis Fire Department hosts annual awards banquet

Published 6:57 pm Monday, February 11, 2019

KANNAPOLIS – Several Kannapolis Fire Department employees were honored at the annual awards and appreciation banquet at the Laureate Center. More than 200 Fire Department personnel, family members and guests attended.


Kris Reeder

The banquet’s top two honors went to Senior Capt. Jonathon Jenkins, who received the Larry C. Phillips Fire Officer of the Year Award, and firefighter Kristopher Reeder, who received the Danny E. Scott Firefighter of the Year Award.

Jenkins is a 15-year fire department veteran and has been with the Kannapolis Fire Department for two years.

Both awards are presented to firefighters who exhibit exemplary leadership skills, commitment to the department and community, high degrees of motivation and personal achievements throughout the year. The honorees are chosen by their peers.

“It is always a thrill to recognize exemplary service, and both these employees deserve the honor this year,” said Fire Chief Ernie Hiers.

In addition to departmental awards, Kannapolis Fire Department Explorer Post 1 recognized several individuals for achievements throughout the past year. Adam Black received the Explorer Officer of the Year Award, Madison Desrosiers received the Explorer of the Year Award and Jun Fung Ng received the Bradley E. Jordan Outstanding Service Award.

“I am proud of all the Explorers. However, these three individuals excelled last year,” said Hunter Brantley, lead adviser and senior firefighter. “They continually worked to improve themselves and Post 1. They are each worthy of the awards that they received.”