Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, January 31, 2019

Becker College

WORCESTER, Mass. — James Leone of Salisbury graduated with a bachelor of science degree in applied computer science from Becker College. Leone was one of 100 Becker students to graduate at the end of the fall semester.

Belmont Abbey

James Seth Cauble made the fall 2018 Dean’s List at Belmont Abbey College with a 3.86 GPA.

Elms University

CHICOPEE, Mass. – The College of Our Lady of the Elms has named Brandon Bennett of Salisbury to the Dean’s List for the fall semester. To qualify, a full-time student must earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher, without incompletes.

Fayetteville State University

FAYETTEVILLE — Fayetteville State University has announced its Dean’s List for the fall semester.

To earn this distinction, students must complete at least 12 semester hours during one semester or two consecutive terms for Fort Bragg students, earn a GPA of 3.2 to 3.74, and have no incomplete grades.

Local honorees include:

  • Marcus Blair of Salisbury
  • Najiyyah Tabb of East Spencer
  • Aaliyah Wilkinson of Kannapolis
  • Jacob Young of China Grove

Koontz Elementary School

The following students made the All-A Honor Roll:

Third grade: James Williams, Amira Williams, Christian Richards, Deven Morris, X’Avier Mitchell, DeQuan Miller, Precious McBride, Allison Manzanares, Tyrique Little, Gracin Gray, Katherine Garcia Sanchez, Juliana Garcia Gonzalez, Shealyn Dominguez, Urijah Dillard, Jaylen Dillard, Terrell Chandler and Noah Adames.

Fourth grade: Hilaria Zarate-Oregon, Christian Ross, Alexa Guzman-Lopez, Alan Espinosa, Keniyah Chambers, Jessica Butler and Shaniah Brewer.

Fifth grade: Elizabeth Wriston, Braylon Taylor, Joseph Samolu, Shamia Pipkin, Hugo Montes Esquivel, Baonhia Lor, Janiah Finger and Ruth Doe.

The following students made the A/B Honor Roll:

Third grade: Sara Nunez Lopez, Cha’myaMarie Mitchell, Dynah Mayes, Puavpheej Lor, Michael Logan IV, Renaad Elsaid, Elizabeth Brown, Da’Riyah Brown, Jowel Bombo, Majesty Benjamin and Davon’te Alexander.

Fourth grade: Shania Whittaker, David Wagner, Anilysa Tran-Stopper, Jayvion Torrence, Tavian Thomas, Gabriela Santiago Santamaria, Sabrina Rivera Rodriguez, Kevin Reyes Cruz, Jaquelin Ovando, Heydi Ortiz Suazo, Andrea Ortiz Maradiaga, Max O’Mellan, Michael Mendoza Mendoza, Jeffrey Matias Hernandez, Montreon Mashore, Meadow Lindabury, Arely Lachino Compean, Mikayla Kelly, Ivan Jarvis, Roselyn Henriquez Rodriguez, Akiya Harmon, Diana Gamez Guzman, Ihsbel Dominguez Sanchez, Daniel Castillo Pacas, Eiza Casco Ordonez, Jose Caballero Jimenez, Dynazty Brown, Da’Shiya Brooker, Jayanna Barskile and Jonathan Barrera Quintero.

Fifth grade: Sha’laya Whittaker, Lianna Trujillo Carrillo, Mario Torres Vega, Jadyn Sturgis, Skylar Poe, Ricardo Ortiz, Daniela Nunez Lopez, Cheancy Knox II, Shontel Johnson, Makylah Hayes, Jarely Gutierrez Carbajal, Retage Elsaid, Nathan Dahlin, Arious Childers, Haven Burgess and Delaney Allbright.

Sacred Heart Catholic School

Father John Eckert and Principal Tyler Kulp stand with Sacred Heart Geography Bee winners Emma Brown and AJ Flynn. Submitted photo

Eighth-grader AJ Flynn won the 2019 Sacred Heart Geography Bee for the second year in a row. Sixth-grader Emma Brown placed second.

Classroom winners who competed in the geography bee included fourth-graders Cristian Mancia and Mikko Zaldivar, fifth-graders Mark Le and Isabella Restar, sixth-graders Emma Bloom and Amanda Nollenberger, seventh-graders Jacob Shores and Annie Tadiello, and eighth-graders AJ Flynn and Kyna Zaldivar.

Eighth-grader Drew Hansen won the school’s spelling bee, with sixth-grader Logan Bryant coming in second and Lauren Childress in third. The top two winners will continue to the district spelling bee on Feb. 12.

Classroom winners include third-graders Bennett Brinkley and Frankie Tadiello, fourth-graders Josephina Huynh and Adam Ebright, fifth-graders Lauren Childress and Kennedy Goodman, sixth-graders Logan Bryant and Tony Frank, seventh-graders Soyer Cornelison and Gray Goodman, and eighth-graders Drew Hansen and Bree Whittington.

Michelle Maher served as moderator, with Principal Tyler Kulp and Sacred Heart Catholic School alumnus Bobby Cardelle as judges. Cardelle was a five-time winner at Sacred Heart from fourth to eighth grade, making it to the state competition.