Education Shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, January 17, 2019

Clemson University

CLEMSON, S.C. — Two Salisbury residents were among students who graduated in December from Clemson University.

They are:

• Katelin Danielle Johnson, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in English.

• Shivani Vishnubhai Patel, who graduated with a bachelor of science in financial management

More than 1,600 students received degrees at the fall semester ceremony at Littlejohn Coliseum.

Davidson County Community College

Last fall, seven students from Davidson County Community College benefited from scholarships provided by the Golden LEAF Foundation scholarship program for the state community college system.

For nearly 20 years, Golden LEAF has helped North Carolinians in rural communities that are tobacco-dependent and economically distressed attend community colleges and universities.

Students awarded the fall scholarship represent Davidson, Davie and Rowan counties. They include:

• Brittney Pendergrass of Lexington.

• Hilary Cartner of Advance.

• Amanda Trexler of Lexington.

• Keldon Hargrave of Lexington.

• Patricia Carson of Lexington.

• TaKeia Davidson of Salisbury.

• Sulie Mauricio of Thomasville.

“Students come to (our college) because they want to learn,” said Rhonda Coats, vice president of student affairs at Davidson County Community College. “They want to build a brighter future for themselves, their families and their communities. Our students are so appreciative of the Golden LEAF Foundation scholarship that provides this opportunity to begin building that future.”

The scholarship can be used for tuition, books, fees, supplies, transportation and child care related to attending qualifying classes. Eligible students must demonstrate financial need and live in counties as designated by the Golden LEAF Foundation. Scholarships for both occupational and curriculum students are available during the fall, spring and summer semesters.

Hanford Dole Elementary School

Hanford Dole recognized the following students as Good Citizens for the month of December:

Pre-k and kindergarten: Aziyah Blakeney, Preycious Brand, Saniyah Garrison, Kipp Moss and Tristan Duren

First grade: Jonathan Ruz Overcash, Stephen Hailey, Avyon Flagg and Christopher Nava

Second grade: Benny Rathbun, Lylah Edmiston , Christopher Castillo, Joseph Keener and Naheim Maxwell 

Third grade: Jaret Perez, Juan Arias, Dexter Eaton and Christian Bombo

Fourth grade: Kanya Cowan, Gonzalo Castro Lopez, Shadavia Patterson, Zane Smith and De’Sean Litaker

Fifth grade: Abreyel Owens, Jaydon Finch, Zelenia Moreno, Ja’mih Tucker, Durant Childers and Bryan Alston

University of North Georgia

DAHLONEGA, Ga. — Meghan Ashleigh Hedgepeth of Salisbury has been named to the President’s Honor Roll at the University of North Georgia for achieving a 4.0 grade point average last fall.

College President Bonita C. Jacobs recognized students who reached the academic achievement for the semester. Students enrolled in 12 or more credit hours in bachelor’s degree programs who achieved a 4.0 grade point average were named to the President’s Honor Roll.

Hedgepeth is seeking a bachelor of science degree in nursing.

West Rowan High School

The John Knox Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution of Mount Ulla awarded its Outstanding Teacher of American History award for 2019 to Melani Lippard of West Rowan High School.

Lippard is a graduate of Western Carolina University and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, where she received a master’s degree in education. She is in her fifth year of teaching American history.

According to a news release, her goal is to prepare students for college, career and civic life. A sign at the front of her classroom reminds students to “Be better than yesterday.” During the summer, Lippard often travels to historic sites, returning with knowledge to share with her students.

A luncheon honoring Lippard for her accomplishments was held at Trinity Oaks on Jan. 12 at the monthly Daughters of the American Revolution meeting.

Deborah Alexander of the John Knox Chapter was chairwoman of the committee that organized the competition and entered Lippard.

Wheaton College

WHEATON, Ill. — Wheaton College has named Jared Smith of Rockwell to its Dean’s List for the fall semester.

To earn Dean’s List honors at Wheaton, an undergraduate must carry 12 or more credit hours and achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on the 4.0 scale.