Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, December 27, 2018

Local educators attend NCCAT

CULLOWHEE — Lisa Overcash of Shive Elementary School, Brandi L. Patrias of Landis Elementary School and Jennifer Hege of West Rowan Middle School recently attended programs held at the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching, a national leader in professional development programming for North Carolina teachers.

The center provides teachers with knowledge, skills, and information on teaching methods and best practices. It conducts a wide variety of professional development for prekindergarten through 12th-grade teachers.

For more information about NCCAT, visit or call 828-293-5202.

Gardner-Webb honor roll

Kyle Venrick of Rockwell was named to the Gardner-Webb University honor roll for the 2018 fall semester. Venrick is an accelerated student in the nursing program.

The honor roll includes undergraduate students with a grade point average of 3.5 who are enrolled for 12 to 14 hours with no grade below a C or students with a grade point average of 3.2 who are enrolled for 15 or more hours with no grade below a C.

Millbridge Elementary

Millbridge Elementary named its December Good Citizens:

Kindergarten: Lorelai Ross, Savannah Kozlowski, Taylor Ives, Victor Saavedra, Audrey Goodale, McKenzie Butler, Nolyn Meeks, Ava Tarlton, Rylee Miller and Kinley Cromer.

First grade: Lesly Bautista-Martinez, Molly Sides, Bode Palmer, Aubrey Gray, Hudson Sechler, Layla Wilson, Rilynn Hartsell, Alyse Carrillo, Harlie Bryant and Luke Stewart.

Second grade: Kenzie Halllman, Kellan Nowlin, Brentley Strickland, Emma Baker, Arizona Alley, Cameron Davis, Emma Houghton, Mayrin Munoz Lazaro, Emory Stewart and Zoe Atwell.

Third grade: Colton Wakonowski, Andrea Muravska, Kamryn Simon, Kailei Watford, Hope Julian, Paisley Miller, Liam Rohletter and Scott Onesios.

Fourth grade: Peyton Nail, Ava Lee, Jahaira Melo, Michael Perez, Bryan Sloop, Samantha Markle, Keaton Sloop and Elizabeth Burleson.

Fifth grade: Delana Burton, Carlos Landaverde, Dakota Waller, Lydia Carter, Aurelia Palacios, Gavin Harrington, Cameron Williamson and Reagan Helmbold.

Overton Elementary

Overton Elementary School in December recognized First Class Scholars for demonstrating the character trait of persevering. They are:

Kindergarten: Jeremy Cruz-Garcia, Summer Davenport and Aaliyah Williams.

First grade: Cherish Houston Torrence, James Oden and Courtlyn Bost.

Second grade: Makayla Tucker, Jhmaya Brown, Ja-Lia Miller, Aidan Church and Tareji Williams.

Third grade: Danorye Adkins and Camille Turner.

Fourth grade: Elissa Burns, Lia Anariba Rivera, Elisha Shelton and Kenneth Cruz-Alvarado.

Fifth grade: Leanna Ford, Kevin Cruz-Alvarado, Lily Fisher and Victoria King.