Knox Junior Beta Club welcomes 37 new members

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 15, 2018

The newest members of the Knox Center for Accelerated Studies Junior Beta Club were inducted in a ceremony Nov. 1 in the school auditorium. With 37 inductees, it has increased the number of club members to 57.

The National Beta Club is an honor organization that recognizes academic achievement, promotes strong moral character and social responsibility, encourages services to others, fosters leadership skills, and provides settings to develop strong interpersonal skills. Members will participate in service projects beginning with filling and shipping boxes for Operation Christmas Child.

To open the ceremony, student and Junior Beta inductee Mia Mason sang “America the Beautiful” and the lighting of the candles followed. Club adviser and teacher Jamesha Thomas, began the candle lighting ceremony by reciting the meaning of the white candle followed by teachers Anita Curry and Ginger Throckmorton, Junior Beta Club President and student Kyla Bryant and Vice President Wesley Hernandez.

“My vision for Knox Middle School Junior Beta Club is to continuously develop and nurture its members to become leaders, develop interpersonal skills and to provide opportunities for members to help others in need,” said  Thomas. “This will enable them to demonstrate the ideals of Beta — character, achievement, service and leadership within their community,” she added.

Inductees took the Jr. Beta Club Pledge led by athletic director and club adviser Darrin Turner, which was followed with a procession of each new member walking across the stage to accept official National Jr Beta Club certificates and pins.

Principal Michael Courtwright gave closing remarks.

“All members are encouraged to use their talents to be the change agents that the world needs today, starting within our community,” he said.

Courtwright motivated students to lead by example and think of themselves as the change that will build esteem within the school to extend into the local community.

A reception with cookies and punch was held in the auditorium foyer after the ceremony for the inductees, their guests and club members.

Inductees are Dawin Aguirre Alvarado, Joshua Allen, Sha’Mya Arnold, Jeremiah Barner, Jerome Blakeney, Amber Bostian, Hannah Bowler, Joshua Burns, Jalen Chunn, Bryson Cowan, Karla Cruz Perez, Wisdom Daughtery, Nick Flack, Elwynn Flack, Marquis Fulson, Alexis Gilbert, Brianna Gilbert, Caden Gomez-Renteria, Kenyon Hairston, Jayden Harris, Shaniya Judon, Madison Krider, Alexis Lee, Sara Lescoe, Shamara Litaker, Aleiah Martin, Kendall Mason, Mia Mason, Kari Mazwell, Mikayla Ortiz, Aaliyah Phifer, Malinda Reid-Dailey, Emiliano Reveles-Garcia, Salei Seisay, Makara Trick, Ayazhane Wells, Antonio Young.

Members inducted in November 2017 are: Madelyn Allbright, Kyla Bryant, Reagan Carpenter, David Chaparro, Mia Cowan, Sharon Dange, Megan Davis, Blake Barrier, James Francis, Evian Harrison, Haley Alvarado, Wesley Alvarado, Vansaney Lor, Mary Morgan, Hannah Schmeltzer, Jeredine Sumo, Dominic Wallace, Donnie Williams, Arnasjelle Corpening, Katelyn Duran.