Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 8, 2018

Catawba Psi Chi inducts new members

Catawba College’s chapter of Psi Chi, the international honor society for psychology, had its fall induction ceremony in October for eight new members.

The induction was held on campus with members installed by Psi Chi adviser Amy Holmes, assistant professor of psychology.

The inductees were Trevor Williams of Mount Pleasant; Joey Monfort of Salisbury, Maryland; Amanda Barbee of Mocksville; Kira Harwood of Salisbury; Tyler Scott of Thomasville; Alexa Marcy of Fort Collins, Colorado; Sarah Coltrane of Asheboro; and Malorie Ritchie of Salisbury.

Hurley Elementary

The following Hurley Elementary School students have been named Students of the Month for October based on the character traits collaboration and cooperation.

Pre-kindergarten: Lucy Norman

Kindergarten: Piper Adams, Adelyn Mowery, Jacob Sanders and Zianna Torrence

First grade: Kayla Brown, De’Vayah Lacy, David Looper, Navaeh Neely and Samanatha Sloop

Second grade: Harmanie Chambers, Nadia Davis,  Christian Landaverde Aldana and Elizabeth Martinez-Molina

Third grade: Andrew Crouse, Makenzie John and  Starrla Smith

Fourth grade: Itzel Alberto Lucio, Jose Garnica, Makagbeh Jabateh and Gabriella Martin

Fifth grade: Shunnashy Azcatl Beltran, Sh-Taviah McCluney, Kimberly Samano Cabellero and Emily Tinajero Martinez

Hanford Dole Elementary

Hanford Dole Elementary School’s October Good Citizens for Good Judgment are:

Pre-K and kindergarten:  Camila Villalobos, Azayia Owens, Miracle Chalk, Jace Robinson, Lilyana Cuthbertson

First grade: Jaylen Chambers, Gabrielle Jefferies, Zachary Overcash, Valeria Tovar Garcia, Logan Smith

Second grade: Tarajea Rushmyer, Ambreal Cole, Jeremiah Connor, Kacey Keener, Brody Goldsmith

Third grade: Joshua Church, Cristiano Chavez, Hailey Zanudo, KaMisze Hoover, Ayden Byers

Fourth grade: Abe’Briell Allen, Arlette Salazar, Shadavia Patterson, Summer Holloman

Fifth grade: Cristian Perez, Ethan Dearth, Josiah Patterson, Isabelle Stepp, Aniya Smith

Local educators attend professional development

Several area educators recently attended programs held at the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching in Cullowhee, a recognized national leader in professional development programming for our state’s teachers.

Participating educators from Rowan-Salisbury Schools included Linda Mercado of Corriher-Lipe Middle School; Petrene N. Lewis, Dellarene S. Myers and Joretta L. Sterner of Koontz Elementary School; Jessica Draper of Faith Elementary School; Amy O. Barbee of Hurley Elementary School; Anthony P. Johnson Jr. of Isenberg Elementary School; Katie S. Gray, Melanie Griffin, Shannon M. Krieg, Trisha P. Ritchie, Lori J. Webster and Linda M. Winecoff of Millbridge Elementary School; and Crystal Morgan of Salisbury High School.

NCCAT provides teachers with new knowledge, skills, teaching methods, best practices and information to take back to their classrooms. It conducts a wide variety of professional development for pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers.

For more information about NCCAT, visit or call 828-293-5202.

Koontz Elementary School

The following Koontz Elementary School students made the all-A honor roll:

Third grade: Terrell Chandler, Journee Lee, Puavpheej Lor, Christian Richards and James Williams

Fourth grade: Shaniah Brewer, Dynazty Brown, Roselyn Henriquez Rodriguez and Anilysa Tran-Stopper

Fifth grade: Jasmine Cartner, Ruth Doe, Retage Elsaid, Cassady Garcia Hernandez, Baonhia Lor, Mariela Navarro Melendez, Joseph Samolu, Milton Talbert and Sha’laya Whittaker

The following students made the A/B honor roll:

Third grade: Messiah Adams, Majesty Benjamin, Da’Riyah Brown, Shealyn Dominguez, Renaad Elsaid, Gracin Gray and Allison Manzanares

Fourth grade: Jonathan Barrera Quintero, Jessica Butler, Jose Caballero Jimenez, Keyniah Chambers, Ihsbel Dominguez Sanchez, Alan Espinosa, Diana Gamez Guzman, Alexa Guzman-Lopez, Mikayla Kelly, Christian Ross, Katelyn Teague, Tavian Thomas and David Wagner

Fifth grade: Delaney Allbright, Joseph Betancourt, Isaiah Blackwell, Lauren Cherry, Arious Childers, Shiyara Clawson, Janiah Finger, Xander Gaines, Zion Gillespie, Jarely Gutierrez Carbajal, Bishop Jones, Cheancy Knox II, Joceline Loredo Delasancha, Xavier Mitchell, Daniela Nunez Lopez, Tonydale Pagan, Shamia Pipkin, Skylar Poe, Braylon Taylor, Mario Torres Vega and Lianna Trujillo Carrillo