• 55°

Education shoutouts

Scholarship recipients

SALISBURY POST file photo Stacey Ketchie

Abigail Smith Abi Charlotte, NC. Photographs by Peter Taylor

Goldman Scholarships awarded

The four-year Goldman Scholarship was presented to two 2018 graduates of Rowan-Salisbury Schools.

The recipients are Stacey Ketchie and Abigail Smith.

Ketchie, a graduate of West Rowan High School, is the daughter of Cheri and Matthew Ketchie. She is attending North Carolina State University.

Smith, a graduate of Carson High School, is the daughter of Amy Taylor-Smith and Jason Smith. She also attends N.C. State.

The Goldman Scholarship are awarded to female students through a competitive process. Each Rowan-Salisbury high school may choose one applicant to be considered.

The fund is administered under the auspices of the Salisbury Branch of the American Association of University Women.

Faith Elementary

Faith Elementary School has named its Good Citizens and Deed-doers for the month.

Good Citizens: Anna Harrington, Lily Adams, Jazlyn Cruz, Isaiah Washington, Sarah Davis, Glenda Cruz, Alexandria Mitchell, Anna Beck, Annabella Lemonde, Brooklynn Pearce, Lilleigh Lefler, Emma Savage, Noah Darby.

Good Deed-doers: Alston Gorman, Sophie Josey, Noah Yates, Anna Savage, Tyler Rayner, Madalynn Ashby, Nikolai Newell, Xavier Nixon, Jamil Isbanioly, Damien D’Arconte, Christopher Booth, Maddison Ball, Gryffin Bowman.

Salisbury High NHS induction

Salisbury High School’s National Honor Society held its annual induction Oct. 23 in the newly renovated school auditorium.

Society president Olivia Dagenhart, vice president Elizabeth Graeber, secretary Harrison Parrott, and treasurer Laura Bullock presided and presented the four qualities of NHS: Scholarship, service, character and leadership.

The guest speaker was Sr. Master Sgt. Frank Strong, Salisbury High’s Teacher of the Year. Principal Luke Brown led inductees in the pledge.

The co-advisers are Adair Doran and Sandra Sullivan.

Students who were inducted are Roshen Amin, Sean Archer, Mary Catherine Berger, Dwayne Bivens, Luke Brady, Kerry Campion, Dominic Capito, Caroline Colwell, Janae Cowan, Leah Cressler, Choyce Davis, Archie Dees, Brody Dillon, Sarah Dressel, Rainey Dunham, Raphael Farfan, Skye Franklin, Caroline Harrill, Walker Hartpence, David Holden, Carter Jenkins, Julie Kenny, Parker Lippard, Alyssa Lopez, Katlyn Melton, Max Morgan, Jaliyah Oats, Nicholas Peltz, Marlin Quintero, Hank Robins, Juan Salazar, Chantal Robinson, Sydney Sims, Hannah Smith, Jacquez Smith,  Katherine Sullivan, Stephanie Tavira, Jailene Trejo-Garcia, Jennifer Trejo-Garcia, Chad van der Poel, Isaiah Woods, and Anna Grace Woolly.



NC unemployment on 12-month streak of lower rates

High School

High school football: West comes up just short against Concord


FDA says Pfizer COVID vaccine looks effective for young kids


Warrant: Baldwin didn’t know weapon contained live round


Blotter: Man charged with breaking into used car dealership, stealing Ford Mustang


Kannapolis man charged with accidentally killing foster brother


Renting out Wrenn House is next on menu for Bell Tower Green Park


City to purchase, replace floating aerator devices for wastewater treatment


NC Community College president details importance of connection between businesses, educational institutions


Sheriff: Alec Baldwin fired prop gun on movie set that killed woman


CDC panel recommends expanded COVID-19 vaccine booster rollout


Truck driver killed after collision with school bus in Newton


Iredell County man charged with murder after three bodies found in burned Statesville house


Massive search for Laundrie ends as FBI identifies remains in Florida


Nation’s largest barn quilt mural to be unveiled in Cleveland on Saturday


Charlotte among six schools joining American Athletic Conference


Few details available after Kannapolis shooting claims life


East Spencer apparel store will host free luncheon for Breast Cancer Awareness Month


Catawba College receives record $200 million contribution to endowment


Blotter: Bullet holes found at Salisbury home


Rowan Sheriff’s Office releases details of NASCAR driver’s assault at coworker’s home


Council candidates discuss city’s handling of ‘Fame’ relocation, protesting, pandemic


Making Memore: Entrepreneurs harness power of Kannapolis’ Food Innovation Lab