Filing opens soon for Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education seats

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 10, 2018

SALISBURY — Filing to run for a seat on the Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education begins July 20.

Four seats will be up for election this fall, including those representing the North area, West area, and South area and the board’s special seat.

Currently Richard Miller serves the North area; Travis Allen, the West area; Dean Hunter, the South area; and Jean Kennedy in the special area.

All were elected to four-year terms in 2014.

Anyone interested in becoming a candidate for a seat on the board must live within that seat’s coverage area.

The North seat represents North Rowan High, Henderson Independent High, North Rowan Middle, North Rowan Elementary and Hanford Dole Elementary schools.

The West seat represents West Rowan High, West Rowan Middle, Cleveland Elementary, Hurley Elementary, Mount Ulla Elementary and Woodleaf Elementary schools. This seat will also represent the new West Rowan Elementary School when it opens during the 2018-19 school year.

The South seat represents South Rowan High, Corriher-Lipe Middle, China Grove Elementary, Enochville Elementary, Landis Elementary and Millbridge Elementary schools.

The special area represents a collection of neighborhoods and areas throughout Rowan County.

Filing begins at noon Friday, July 20 at the Rowan County Board of Elections Office, 1935 Jake Alexander Blvd. W., Suite D-10.

Candidates may file until noon Aug. 17.

The filing fee is $5.

Call the Rowan County Board of Elections at 704-216-8140 for more information.