Powell leads Iowa to IFL’s United Bowl

Published 9:01 pm Saturday, June 23, 2018

Staff report

DES MOINES, Iowa — Former Livingstone quarterback Drew Powell has led the Iowa Barnstormers to the Indoor Football League’s United Bowl on July 7.

Iowa (12-3) won the United Conference championship on Friday night, crushing the Nebraska Danger, 48-17. The Barnstormers will battle the Sioux Falls Storm in the United Bowl. The Storm won the Intense Conference title game over the Arizona Rattlers, 69-68, in overtime.

Powell turned in another MVP-type performance against Nebraska, completing 10 of 13 passes for 111 yards, two scores and no interceptions. He also rushed 15 times for 48 yards and three touchdowns.

Powell’s first two rushing TDs came in the last two possessions of the first half, lifting the Barnstormers to a 20-10 lead. Iowa took a 27-17 after three quarters and put the game away with a 21-0 fourth period.

Iowa is the top seed in the IFL playoffs and will host the United Bowl at its Wells Fargo Arena.

Powell, of Upper Marlboro, Md., was a four-year starter at quarterback for Livingstone in 2012-15).

NOTES: The conference title was the Barnstormers’ first since 2009. … Iowa will host its first United Bowl since 1997. … the conference title came on the birthday of Iowa’s most famous alum, Kurt Warner, who played QB in Des Moines before going on to an NFL Hall of Fame career — most notably, a Super Bowl title with the St. Louis Rams in 1999.