• 68°

LandTrust recognizes new and outgoing board members

LandTrust for Central North Carolina

SALISBURY — LandTrust for Central North Carolina recognized new and outgoing board members at its annual meeting June 8.

According to LandTrust bylaws, board member terms are three years and board members can serve a maximum of three terms.

Leaving this year were Ed Norvell, Marla Coulthard, Dennis Testerman and Walter Holland.

Ed Norvell is from Salisbury and has served nine years on the board, including serving as board president. Norvell was a LandTrust employee in its early years. He serves on other boards, including that of North Carolina Coastal LandTrust. Norvell was presented with a wildlife sculpture for his service.

Marla Coulthard is from Rockingham and also served nine years on the board. She was formerly employed by Central Park N.C. Coulthard is a member of the Uwharrie Trailblazers and has assisted with the Uwharrie Trail thru-hike for the past five years. She was presented a framed picture of her kayaking on the Little River.

Dennis Testerman is from Cabarrus County and served six years on the board. He was formerly employed by the Cabarrus Soil and Water Conservation District. Testerman was presented a framed picture of Clarke Creek Rookery, a partnership project between LandTrust and Cabarrus SWCD.

Walter Holland is from Iredell County and served six years on the board. Holland has a farm under conservation easement with LandTrust in Iredell County. Holland will be presented a photo of the Stokes Family Farm, which was protected during his tenure on the board.

LandTrust also welcomed a slate of incoming board members. They include Bob Kluttz, Leon Huneycutt, Stacey Kerney, Ben Fisher, Monty Crump and Shelby Emrich.

Kluttz is the owner of Quality Sprinkler Co. in Charlotte who donated a conservation easement on a 90-acre property in Anson County. Kluttz manages his property for wildlife and has a particular interest in bees and pollinators.

Huneycutt is a Stanly County native and the owner of Locust Lumber. He is an avid outdoorsman who manages his land for wildlife and is also an easement donor of property on the Rocky River in Stanly County.

Crump is city manager of Rockingham and is a member of the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission. Crump has 34 years of experience in local government administration and community and economic development. He is a lifetime resident of the Yadkin-Pee Dee River Region and is a conservationist with experience and leadership in resource protection issues.

Kerney is a resident of Montgomery County and is a graduate of North Carolina State University and Methodist University. She was a police officer for 13 years. Kerney has been involved in outdoor activities, wildlife and hunting her entire life. She recently moved back to Montgomery County and enjoys kayaking and hiking in the Uwharries.

Fisher is a former LandTrust intern who lives in Salisbury and is a project manager for Carrol Fisher Construction Co. He is in the Coast Guard Reserve and has studied fisheries, wildlife and conservation biology at N.C. State University. He graduated from Cape Fear Community College with degree in sustainability technologies.

Emrich is executive director of the Anson County Chamber of Commerce. She was promoted to her current position with the chamber in August 2016 after having served as interim director and working for the chamber for five years.

The LandTrust board now has a total of 18 members.

“The LandTrust is very fortunate to have supportive board members who have given many years of service to this organization in our conservation mission, and also blessed to have talented new board members to volunteer to serve in the coming years,”said Executive Director Travis Morehead.

To learn more about LandTrust for Central North Carolina, contact Crystal Cockman at 704-647-0302 or crystal@landtrustcnc.org.



Local Democrats call to ‘turn the state blue’ during virtual office reopening


Catawba gets high marks in U.S. News and World rankings for fifth year


China Grove soap store sets sights on expansion into Kannapolis


Charlotte, UNC game canceled after 49ers place players in quarantine


Blotter: Sept. 18


County sees ninth COVID-19 death this week, more than 30 cases reported


Gov. Cooper announces schools can move K-5 to plan A; school board vote needed locally


Wet weather brings crashes, traffic to standstill on interstate


Salisbury man victim of Facebook scam, duped out of $2,000


Two charged after fight outside Salisbury home


Rowan-Salisbury Schools ships out thousands of old devices for refurbishing


Caught in the infodemic: NC school policies frustrated by scientific challenges

East Spencer

East Spencer to hold community day, provide free food, supplies




Landis officials provide plan for COVID-19 funds, discuss town’s financial position


Blattner brought technology into schools before it was cool


State has slight decline in SAT scores


New environmental specialists begin work on backlog soil evaluations


Friends, colleagues say Seay left his mark on Rowan judicial system


Rep. Howard says ‘still work to be done’ as she seeks 17th term in House


Trump disputes health officials, sees mass vaccinations soon


‘Nothing left in the bucket’: Wildfire resources run thin


At least 1 dead, hundreds rescued after Hurricane Sally


Blotter: Sheriff’s Office seeking information in shootout