Salisbury Academy graduates Class of 2018

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 14, 2018

Salisbury Academy

SALISBURY — Members of the Salisbury Academy Class of 2018 will move on to Cannon School, East Rowan High School, Jesse C. Carson High School, Rowan County Early College and Salisbury High School after their recent graduation.

Fourteen Salisbury Academy alumni graduated from area high school programs and will progress into the next chapters of their education journeys.

The next steps for local Salisbury Academy high school graduates include:

• Maria Capito will attend N.C. State University.

• Ben Coulter will go to Catawba College.

• Adam Drye is headed to Auburn University.

• Lizzie Fisher will attend Wofford College,\.

• Anna Louise Lewis will go to National University of Ireland.

• Emily Mann will attend East Carolina University.

• Kathryn Morrison is headed to East Carolina University.

• Ivy Overcash will attend the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

• Mathew Pickens will go into the U.S. armed forces.

• Drew Shelby will attend the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

• Garrett Shermer is headed to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

• Isabel Temple will attend Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.

• Jacob Webb will pursue professional opportunities.

“Their futures hold great promise and the students are ready to take this next, exciting step,” Salisbury Academy head of school Beverly Fowler said of this year’s graduates, both the Class of 2014 and Class of 2018.

“We look forward to supporting and celebrating our graduates on their journeys and learning of their experiences and accomplishments in years to come.”

This year’s graduating class includes Aidan DeHaas, Ellison Frick, Emily Frick, Hayes Hartpence, Jack Heilig, Sydney Hlavacek, Morgan Jeter, Madelyne Lawrence, Makhiya Lea, Gavin McDaniel, Sadie Miller, Camille Palmer, Riley Peltz, Christopher Portillo, Carys Roberson, Wade Robins, Greyson Smith, Jasmine Spruill, Margaret Thurman and William Webb IV.