• 48°

Graduation 2018: South Rowan High School scholarships

South Rowan High School seniors have earned the following scholarships and awards:

Brett Amburn: George and Ada Fleming Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarship, Jo Starnes Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship and the Bradshaw Financial Planning Scholarship.

Taylor Barbee: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Triston Bolinger: Prudden Scholarship.

Patrick Brooks: Larry Deal No. 83 Scholarship and Rebecca Moxley McMillen Scholarship.

Morgan Brown: South Rowan PTA Scholarship.

Jordan Caldwell: Sam R. & Louise May Endowed Scholarship.

Connor Childers: Jean Jordan Memorial Scholarship, South Rowan Alumni Scholarship, the Jonathon Foundation Scholarship.

Bryanna Clawson: Catawba College Deans’s Scholarship and Millbridge Ruritan Scholarship
Austin Cole: UNC-Charlotte Chancellor’s Scholarship.

Riley Corriher: George and Ada Fleming Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarship, Millbridge Ruritan Scholarship and Clyde Corriher Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship.

Meggan Dancy: Jo Starnes Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship.

Caitlyn Dickson: Salisbury Rotary Club Scholarship and Kayla Berquist Memorial Scholarship.

Caleb Faulk: UNC-Wilmington Department of Music Scholarship and Eureka Lodge 283 Masonic Scholarship.

Alyssa Fortner: Pfieffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Garrett Harrington: Steve Lee Memorial Scholarship.

Brianna Haynes: South Rowan Alumni Scholarship, George and Ada Fleming Scholarship, Millbridge Ruritan Scholarship, NCACTE Scholarship, Clyde Corriher Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship and Bradley Barnhardt Memorial Scholarship.

Jeremy Hilton: RSEA Scholarship, Ola Mae Horton Memorial Scholarship and Wild Bill Corriher Scholarship.

Baylie Hundley: Prudden Schoalrship.

Jayson James: The Zach Thompson Memorial Scholarship.

Madyson Jenkins: Appalachian State University Academic Excellence Scholarship, Rowan County Masonic Scholarship, S&D Scholarship and South Rowan.

Cordelia Lambert: Wingate University Trustee Scholarship and the John A Campbell Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Patrick Long: Wingate University Academic Merit Scholarship.

Brooke Lowery: Catawba College Trustee Scholarship.

Maranda Marcum: Charleston Southern University Academic Merit Scholarship.

Taylor Mauldin: Emory & Henry College Honor Scholarship, Emory & Henry College STEM Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarship and Millbridge Ruritan Scholarship.

Kaitlyn McCombs: UNC-Charlotte Chancellor’s Scholarship, UNC-Charlotte Tuition Scholarship, Frank and Mary Cress Scholarship and John A Campbell Jr. Memorial Scholarship.

Jaxon Miller: Campbell University Top 10 Percent Scholarship and Campbell University Presidential Scholarship.

Katelyn Nesbitt: Catawba College Deans’s Scholarship.

Eileen Nguyen: South Rowan PTA Scholarship.

Olivia O’Kelley: Appalachian State University Dean’s Scholarship and the George and Ada Fleming Scholarship.

Bailey Overcash: Wingate University Academic Merit Scholarship, South Rowan PTA Scholarship and the Kayla Berquist Memorial Scholarship.

Angelina Palacios: The South Rowan PTA Scholarship, Millbridge Ruritan Scholarship, George and Ada Fleming Scholarship and J. Michael McDuffie Memorial Scholarship.

Amber Peeler: The Prudden Scholarship.

Kaela Plott: The South Rowan PTA Scholarship.

Kimberly Ramirez-Betancourt: Catawba College Deans’s Scholarship.

Britney Read: Catawba College Deans’s Scholarship.

Mataya Reynolds: Prudden Scholarship and Pfeiffer University University Scholarship.

Michelle Rivera: Pfeiffer University University Scholarship.

Madison Rollins: Woodmen Life Scholarship, Eureka Lodge 283 Masonic Scholarship and  F&M Bank Merit Scholarship.

Leslie Sanchez: The Prudden Scholarship.

Elisa Sanchez: Catawba College Founders Scholarship.

Veronica Sanchez: Prudden Scholarship.

Tyrese Shaver: Catawba College Deans’s Scholarship and Wingate University Presidential Scholarship.

Joshua Sifford: Wild Bill Corriher Scholarship.

Paige Sloop: The Executive Director Mona Lovett Honorary Scholarship.

Allison Smith: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Kara Steele: UNC-Chapel Hill Carolina Scholarship and China Grove Rotary Club Scholarship.

Elizabeth Villenueve: The Jo Starnes Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship.

Vanessa Viveros Romero: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Autumn Walker: Johnson and Wales University Culinary Essentials Scholarship and Johnson and Wales Presidential Academic Scholarship.

Mitchell Watkins: Catawba College Deans’s Scholarship.

Logan Weaver: Johnson and Wales University Presidential Academic Scholarship.

Lauren Welborne: High Point University Academic Merit Scholarship.

Addison Wise: SECU People Helping People Scholarship and George and Ada Fleming Scholarship.

Kaitlyn Wood: The Jo Starnes Memorial FFA Alumni Scholarship.

Diana Zavala: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.



City fights invasive beetles by injecting trees with insecticide


City names downtown recipients for federal Parks Service grant

China Grove

China Grove Town Council weighs 2021-22 budget priorities, supports buying body cameras


Educators reflect on Teacher Appreciation Week


Livingstone College wins $30,000 Home Depot grant




Shield-A-Badge With Prayer program enters 26th year, accepting volunteers to pair with officers


COVID-19 infection, quarantine numbers in Rowan-Salisbury Schools reach new highs

High School

High school football: Offensive line came together for Hornets, who play for state title tonight


Pro baseball: White makes pro debut and says, ‘It felt amazing to be out there’


West Rowan Middle eighth grader wins investment writing contest


YSUP Rowan invites agencies to participate in youth-focused training


US backs waiving intellectual property rules on vaccines


As demand drops, Cooper visits vaccine clinic to urge usage


NC lawmakers advance bill barring mandatory COVID-19 shots


N.C. bill banning Down syndrome abortions nears floor vote


Rowan County sees 301st death from COVID-19


N.C. lawmakers advance bill barring mandatory COVID-19 shots


Rowan Public Library joins initiative to help people with digital connectivity


Mocksville to dissolve police department


Blotter: May 5


Salisbury’s McElroy named top city, county communications professional in state


Locals condemn use of force during 2019 traffic stop of Georgia woman


Back and better than ever: Cannon Ballers kick off inaugural season in Atrium Health Ballpark