• 59°

Graduation 2018: Carson High School scholarships

Carson High School seniors received the following scholarships and awards:

All County Scholars: Abigail Cole, Tanner Hawkins, Gabrielle Jolly, Carson Sifford.

Michael McDuffie Memorial Scholarship: Ethan Rhodes.

SECU “People Helping People” Scholarship: Benjamin Helms.

Bradley Barnhardt Memorial Scholarship: Carson Sifford.

Salisbury Rotary Club Scholarship: Maritsa Cruz Salazar.

Rowan County Masonic Scholarship: Mackenzie Reid.

Helen S. & Julius L. Goldman Scholarship: Abigail Smith.

Army ROTC Scholarship – N.C. State: Devin Gay.

Eureka Masonic Lodge 283 Scholarship: Amanda Patton, Kaitlyn Smith.

John C. Campbell Jr. Memorial Scholarship Award: Jessica Vanderlaan.

A. Clement Scholarship: Olivia Gabriel.

Ralph Ketner-Bill Stanback Equality Scholarship: Molly Bourque.

U.S. Marine Corps Awards: Distinguished Athlete Award, Cole Sifford, Taylor Wiggins; Distinguished Scholastic Excellence Award, Chloe Kirkpatrick; Distinguished Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence, Jonathan Maxwell Steele.

DAR Good Citizen Award: Taylor Wiggins.

SAT/ACT Hall of Fame: Abigail Cole, Jonah Evans, Devin Gay, Mollie Goss, Tanner Hawkins, Gabrielle Jolly, Ian Ramirez, Ethan Rhodes.

National Honor Society Scholarship: Elizabeth Haff.

Agriculture Award: Austin Harrington, Tanner Nance.

Family & Consumer Sciences Award: Stephanie Coffey, Alyssa Lang.

Woodworking Award: Jacob Eckard.

Health Science Award: Kaitlyn Stout, Onnah Houghton.

Business & Marketing Award: Madison York.

Masonry Award: Dillon Lowder.

English Award: Jenna Grace Dowd.

Mathematics Award: Garrison Seitz, Taylor Wiggins.

Science Award: Garrison Seitz.

History Award: Josh Hunter.

French Award: Mackenzie Reid.

Chinese Award: Kevin Barrera-Gutierrez.

Spanish Award: Kaitlyn Smith, Rebekah Lippard, Amanda Patton.

Art Award: Victoria Amaro Zavala, Mackenzie Fornshell, Chyna Sykes

Dare to Imagine Scholarship: Victoria Amaro Zavala.

Student Council Award: Gabrielle Jolly

Orange & Blue Crew Spirit Award: Chloe Kirkpatrick, Hannah Stevens.

Jaycee’s Outstanding Teen Award: Devin Gay, Abigail Smith.

Carson Athletic Recognition: Sophie Andrews, Lindsay Elmore, Siera Fesperman, Jessica Freeze, Olivia Gabriel, Clayton Gilmore, Montana Gurganious, Jamarius Hairston, Maddux Holshouser, Rylie Stewart, Zain Tucker, Jailen Williams, Owen White.

 Wild Bill Corriher Scholarship: Devin Gay.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Scholarship: Taylor Wiggins.

JCHS Booster Club Scholarship: Jamarius Hairston, Taylor Wiggins.

Rowan Salisbury Association of Educators Scholarship: Bayley Atkinson.

Rowan County Veterans Council American History Award: Devin Gay.

Chick-Fil-A Scholarship: Tanner Hawkins.

Ann Cannon Spirit of Volunteerism Scholarship: Connor Kuehl.

Carson Bible Teaching Association Scholarship: Joshua Hunter.

F&M Bank Scholarship: Madelyn Woodward.

Essie K. Foxx Memorial Scholarship: Jamarius Hairston, Taylor Wiggins.

AMVETS Post 845 Bill Misenheimer Scholarship: Ian Ramirez.

Kiwanis Key Club Core Values Scholarship: Paige Eagle, Abigail Smith.

Cleveland Elam Memorial Scholarship: Jamarius Hairston.

John O. Reynolds Scholarship: Taylor Wiggins.

Goodwill Willpower Scholarship: Hannah Venable.

Sue P. Fisher Community Service Scholarship: Connor Kuehl.

Edwin Gray Martin Memorial Scholarship: Jamarius Hairston.

Florence Kidder Memorial Scholarship: Mackenzie Reid.

First United Methodist Church Scholarship: Hannah Smith.

Rockwell AMVETS Ladies Auxiliary: Ian Ramirez.

Community Blood Center Scholarship: Chloe Kirkpatrick, Gabrielle Jolly.

Vietnam Veterans Scholarship: Ian Ramirez.

Salisbury Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Scholarship: Taylor Wiggins.

China Grove Rotary Club Scholarship: Mollie Goss.

St. John’s Lutheran Church Scholarship: Rebekah Lippard.

Eureka 277 China Grove Order of the Eastern Star Scholarship: Rebekah Lippard.

Grand Chapter of N.C. Order of the Eastern Star Scholarship: Rebekah Lippard.

Jesse C. Carson High School Principal’s Award: Ayla Williams.

Bruce T. Halle Scholarship: Jaden Miller.

Mt. Zion United Church of Christ George & Ada Fleming Scholarship: Tayler Harwood, Garrison Seitz, Benjamin Helms.

Mt. Zion United Church of Christ Talbert & Dorothy Howell Scholarship: Mackenzie Reid.

Bradshaw Financial Planning Scholarship: Jonathan Maxwell Steele.

Jean Jordan Memorial Scholarship: Mackenzie Reid.

Carson PTA Scholarship: Korbynne Hill, Mackenzie Reid, Taylor Wiggins.

Harvard Prize Book Award: Hayden Trayah.

The following are university and college scholarships:

University of South Carolina: Owen White.

University of Alabama: Gabrielle Jolly.

Lander University: Jamarius Hairston.

University of North Carolina at Asheville: Chandler Basinger, Benjamin Helms.

Greensboro College: Jessica Freeze, Rylie Stewart.

Wake Forest University: Abigail Cole, Taylor Wiggins, Allison Tesh.

South Carolina State University: Olivia Gabriel.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro: Katlynn Casey, Ayla Williams, Micahiah Marion, Sarah Singleton.

University of North Carolina at Charlotte: Nicole Cook, Ethan Rhodes, Makenzie Waller, Jessica Sykes, Joshua Ward.

Queens University: Lindsay Elmore.

North Carolina State University: Garrison Seitz, Kala Rice.

Methodist University: Siera Fesperman.

University of North Carolina at Wilmington: Hannah Venable.

Pfeiffer University: Jessica Martinez, Zain Tucker, Lindsay York, Alyssa Campbell, Brittany Vanhoy.

Catawba College: Denise Dolinger, Karina Jacome, Benjamin Coulter, Kristen Fortner, Victoria Hunter, Michelle Vasquez, Montana Gurganious.

Campbell University: Shaleah Jolly, Emily Sloop, Christopher Simerson.

William Peace University: Molly Bourque.

College of Charleston: Rachel Nuottila.

Wingate University: Frank Torres.

East Carolina University: Bree Tucker.

Pitt Community College: Clayton Gilmore.

High Point University: Mackenzie Reid.

Claflin University: Jailen Williams.

Lees-McRae College: Preston Turner.


Ask Us

Ask Us: What programs exist for litter cleanup?


County begins accepting restaurant grant applications


Blotter: Salisbury man charged with nine more felony sex offenses


Biden team readies wider economic package after virus relief


Spacewalking astronauts prep station for new solar wings


Cuomo sorry for remarks aide ‘misinterpreted’ as harassment


Trump calls for GOP unity, repeats lies about election loss


Rowan County administers 700 vaccines, with majority going to local educators


Shoplifting at Walmart presents challenge for Salisbury police


Commissioners will hear details about changes to solar energy policies


After overcoming obstacles, local barber Daniel King earns registered status


39th annual K12 student exhibitions go virtual


Biz Roundup: Chamber of Commerce to host ‘Salute to Agri-Business’ at March Power in Partnership


Local legislators back bills ranging from new restrictions on sex offenders to Holocaust education


After surviving COVID-19 scare, Lois Willard set to celebrate 100th birthday

High School

Carson rolls over South 41-0 as about 600 allowed in to see season opener for both


East Spencer after-school program looks toward opening, nonprofit status


Frank Ramsey inducted into the NC Military Veterans Hall of Fame


Livingstone’s Stoutamire inducted into 2021 CIAA Hall of Fame


J&J’s 1-dose shot cleared, giving US 3rd COVID-19 vaccine


13 deaths reported in Rowan, county stresses need to receive second dose


10% of Rowan residents receive first dose; eight COVID-19 deaths reported this week


North Carolina State Highway Patrol commander to retire


UNC School of the Arts may go for online learning due to COVID-19 spread