• 37°

Rowan County Commissioners vote for smoke-free parks

SALISBURY — After a long push from local health organizations, the Rowan County Commissioners voted Monday to make parks tobacco-free.

The new regulation bans traditional cigarettes, e-cigarettes, vaping devices and other uses of tobacco in all county parks, recreation buildings and recreation grounds.

Previously, smoking was prohibited only in designated areas or “any part of any park when it is deemed the fire hazard makes such action advisable.”

Alyssa Smith, executive director of Healthy Rowan, said the regulation change was a “true collaborative effort through Healthy Rowan’s partners … to put health first for our community.”

She said the Rowan County Health Department and Novant Health Rowan Medical Center were particularly valuable partners in the effort.

Smith said the regulation is intended to promote a healthy environment, free from unwanted smoke and vapor.

Smoking, she said, is a health, safety and environmental hazard that needs to be banned to protect employees and visitors from the harmful effects of smoke.

“We sincerely appreciate the Rowan County Parks and Recreation Board and the County Commissioners for promoting our parks as a healthy place for everyone to enjoy,” she said. “This policy will empower those who do not want to breathe in second-hand smoke. It will also protect children who are there to enjoy the great parks Rowan County has to offer from those long-term negative impacts.”

Under the new regulation, signage will be installed at entrances to parks and other locations. Anyone found in violation may be asked to leave park premises.

In other business from Monday’s agenda:

• The commissioners heard a presentation by Holly Wallace, a 4-H student chosen to participate in the Youth Voice Summit this August.

• The commissioners approved a conditional-use permit requested by Steve and Vicki Southerland.

The Southerlands plan to construct a 1,200-square-foot residential storage facility on Lot 6 of Bay Ridge Estates.

The facility will hold personal items and equipment while their house is built on the same property.

• The board voted to cancel its July 16 meeting.

• The commissioners appointed 11 people to seven local boards.

The appointments include:

• Mike Beaver and Milford Lewis Goldsmith to the Centralina Workforce Development Board.

• Cheryl Peevy to the Dangerous Dog Appeals Board.

• Alfred C. Wilson to the Historic Landmarks Commission.

• Christina Sides Joyce to the Home and Community Care Block Grant Advisory Committee.

• Andrew Hayden Poston to the Industrial Facilities and Pollution Control Finance Authority.

• Jason Scott Hinson, Macon Stewart, Don Bringle and Alisa Russell to the Juvenile Crime Prevention Council.

• Lyn Marsh to the Rowan-Cabarrus Community College board of trustees.



Frustrated and confused by COVID-19 restrictions, local bar owners near breaking point


Republican volunteers say ‘passion’ drove victories across the ballot


Peppermint partnership: N.C. State’s Food Science Club manufactures ice cream toppings at Research Campus


Biz Roundup: Salisbury-Rowan utilities honored for exceeding drinking water standards


County reports 57 new COVID-19 positives Saturday


Sharing the Season 2020 list


One last blessing. For 20 precious minutes, 89-year-old Barrier met granddaughter


Businesses plan to continue using practices driven by COVID-19 after pandemic is over


Always on the hunt: Local entrepreneur grows real estate firm, earns accolade for success


Sons of American Revolution honor local first responders


Sharing the season: Community Care Clinic turns to telemedicine during pandemic


Rowan Helping Ministries preparing to reopen clothing assistance as temperatures drop


‘Fireman’s chief’: Colleagues remember Barnhardt as passionate firefighter, family man


Local retailers looking to holiday shopping for boost in business


Virus numbers could be erratic after Thanksgiving


Appeals court rejects Trump challenge of Pennsylvania race


52 COVID-19 cases added Friday after week with highest, fourth-highest increases


Blotter: Man charged with stealing boat, $10,000 in auto parts


RSS superintendent hiring process continues


We want to hear from readers: How are you planning to do your holiday shopping?


‘Whoever we feed is a blessing:’ Providence Baptist Church distributes free meals on Thanksgiving


Spencer to receive $750,000 CDBG grant for home repair


For Rowan, 2020 general election turnout statistics mostly mirror 2016


Blotter: Nov. 26