• 73°

Livingstone golfers win CIAA championship

Blue Bears take the title

CIAA photo …
Livingstone golfer Phillip Harrison lines up a putt at the CIAA Championship on Friday in New Kent, Va. Harrison finished third individually, helping lead the Blue Bears to the conference title.

Staff report

NEW KENT, Va. — Livingstone fired a second-round 318 to win the CIAA Golf Championship at The Club at Viniterra here Friday.

The Blue Bears’ performance yesterday was nearly identical to Thursday’s first round when they carded a 317. Livingstone led Virginia Union by four strokes after the first round but widened the victory margin to 11 strokes on Friday — 635 to 646.

The Panthers shot a 321 on Thursday, but slipped to a 325 in the second round.

The victory was Livingstone’s second conference championship in golf. The CIAA title also gives coach Andre Springs’ Blue Bears the conference’s automatic qualifier for the NCAA II Regional.

Individually, Livingstone’s Phillip Harrison finished third, earning All-CIAA first team and All-CIAA Tournament honors. Harrison had a two-day 153, firing a 74 on Thursday and a 79 in the second round.

The Blue Bears’ Alex Stewart (157/78-79) and Michael Sutton (162/82-80) finished seventh and 10th, respectively, and were named All-CIAA, based their season stroke average. Stewart had 77.6 stroke average, followed by Harrison (77.8) and Sutton (79.3).

Livingstone’s DeAngelo Stowe also shot a 162 (81-81), taking 11th place in the tournament, while teammate Lenorris Williams tied for 14th by carding a 164 (83-81).

Isaiah Shaw of Fayetteville State was medalist in the tournament, shooting a 153 (74-79). Virginia Union’s Robel Woldagabriel also shot a 153 (78-75) but was edged by Shaw in a sudden death tiebreaker.

St. Augustine’s took third place behind Livingstone and Virginia Union at 671 (336-335) while Chowan finished fourth at 675 (341-334). Elizabeth City State, third after the first round, fell to fifth at 680 (331-349).

Rounding out the field were Johnson C. Smith (685), Fayetteville State (702) and Virginia State (730).

NOTES: St. Augustine’s Sam Cudjoe led the All-CIAA team with league-best 74.8 scoring average. Just a freshman, Cudjoe earned CIAA Golfer of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors. … Julius Wells, also of St. Augustine’s, was voted the CIAA Coach of the Year. … Livingstone won the Team GPA Award for men’s golf.


Livingstone                 635/317-318

Virginia Union           646/321-325

St. Augustine’s           671/336-335

Chowan                       675/341-334

Elizabeth City St.       680/331-349

Johnson C. Smith     685/340-345

Fayetteville St.           702/334-368

Virginia State             730/375-355



Isaiah Shaw, Fay. State             153/74-79

Robel Woldagabriel, Va. U       153/78-75

Phillip Harrison, Livingstone  154/76-78

Tyler Futrell, Eliz. City St   .     155/75-80

DeJuan Powell, J.C. Smith       155/79-76

Sam Cudjoe St. Aug’s                 156/76-80

Alex Stewart, Livingstone         157/78-79

Paul Meints, Va. Union             158/76-82

Christian Fleetwood, CU           160/79-81

Michael Sutton, Livings.          162/82-80

DeAngelo Stowe, Livings.         162/81-81

Donald Thaxton, Chowan        162/83-79

J.T. Moore, St. Aug’s                 163/82-81

Lenorris Williams, Livings.     164/83-81

Allan Day, Va. Union                 164/81-83




‘Meet the need’: Rowan County Health Department looks to add to vaccination options


Seaford is first woman in county hired for town manager position since the ’90s


Colonial Spring Frolic makes a comeback to kick off museum’s year


Concord City Council wants to name bridge for fallen officer, Rowan native


RSS administration will recommend selling Faith Elementary property to charter school


Inspired by advice from father-in-law, Angela Mills launches her own business in memory of him


Rowan County Democrats re-elect leaders, pass resolutions


Baseball: Memories come alive in Ferebee book


During Child Abuse Prevention Month, professionals reflect on detecting abuse in a virtual world


Biz Roundup: Small Business Center announces spring slate of workshop for business owners


Kiwanis Pancake Festival starts Friday


Rowan fire marshal seeks to clear up confusion, worry caused by solicitation letter


Fun every day: Fifth anniversary for Yadkin Path Montessori School


Charles: Royal family ‘deeply grateful’ for support for Philip


North Carolina sites to resume J&J vaccines after CDC review


Cooper OKs bill offering K-12 students summer school option

High School

High school football: Playoff time means get ready for ‘big-boy football’

High School

High school football: Hornets overpower South to secure playoff spot


Jeffrey MacDonald won’t be released despite deteriorating health


Amazon warehouse workers reject union in Alabama


Ex-NFL player’s brain to be probed for trauma-related harm after Rock Hill shootings


Duke University to require COVID vaccinations for fall term


Cooper OKs bill offering K-12 students summer school option

High School

High school football: Record night for Pinckney as East cruises; Carson wins thriller in OT