Education shoutouts: Student a semifinalist in National Geographic bee

Published 12:00 am Thursday, March 8, 2018

A.J. Flynn, a seventh-grader at Sacred Heart Catholic School, is a semifinalist in the National Geographic Society’s 2018 N.C. National Geographic Bee.

Flynn is the son of David and Rene Flynn.

The contest will be held April 6.

This is the second level of the National Geographic Bee competition, which is now in its 30th year. Bees were held in schools with fourth- through eighth-grade students throughout the state to determine each school champion.

School champions then took a qualifying test, which they submitted to the National Geographic Society. The society invited as many as 100 of the top-scoring students in each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense Dependents Schools and U.S. territories to compete in the state bees.

To celebrate the 30th annual National Geographic Bee, the cash prize for the top three students in each state has doubled. State champions will receive $200 each, the “National Geographic Visual Atlas of the World, 2nd Edition” and a trip to Washington to represent their state in the National Geographic Bee Championship to be held at National Geographic Society headquarters May 20-23.

Students who come in second place will receive $150, and those who come in third will receive $100.

The first-place national champion will receive a $50,000 college scholarship, a lifetime membership in the society, a subscription to National Geographic magazine, and an all-expenses-paid Lindblad expedition to the Galapagos Islands aboard the new National Geographic Endeavour ll. 

Second- and third-place finishers will receive $25,000 and $10,000 college scholarships, respectively. Visit for information.

Goldman scholarship

Jesus Kelsey Sanchez was awarded the four-year Goldman Scholarship.

She graduated from the Early College at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College in spring 2017. She is attending the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Maria Isabel Sanchez is her mother; her father is Jose Cruz Sanchez.

The Goldman Scholarship Fund awards educational scholarships to female students through a competitive process. Each Rowan-Salisbury high school may choose one applicant to be considered. The fund is administered under the auspices of the Salisbury Branch of the American Association of University Women. 

Overton Team Players

The following individuals were recognized at Overton Elementary School in February as First Class Scholars for the character trait of Good Team Player:

Kindergarten: Deangelo Kelly, Lamans Brewer and Gunner Ginn.

First grade: Bailey Beaver, Jaxsyn Ginn and Camden Honeycutt.

Second grade: Claryssa Riley, Eva Bolin, Dazmin Ambers and Jak Reasons.

Third grade: Troy Davies, Malachi McHenry, Lia Anariba-Rivera and Brimeya Long.

Fourth grade: Tristan Saunders, Trazelle Ward and Malik Streater.

Fifth grade:  Shamaya Evans, Joshua Burns and Arel Long.

Mount Ulla honor roll

The following students made the All A Honor Roll at Mount Ulla Elementary School:

Third grade: Lilyanna Hernandez, Owen Hoffner, Caleb Jones, Phineas Mixson, Brody Pope, Karla Reyes-Ortega, Alex Smith and Julian Steck.

Fourth grade: Kylie Bailey, Will Beecham, Mason Gabosch, Daniela Guerrero-Suarez, Luke Henson, Victoria Lowman, Isaac McLaughlin, Caleigh Morgan, Abigail Rose and Lucille McLean.

Fifth grade: Melanie Greer and Taylor Keller.

The following students made the A/B honor roll:

Third grade: Callen Batts, Brayden Luther, Jaxon Ramsey, Vanessa Rangel, Jocelyn Rodriguez-Reyes, Anna Sawyer, Anderson Shue, Victoria Stamison, Jackson Wallace, Mason Walters and McKenlyn Weber.

Fourth grade: Wesley Allen, Joquetta Allison, Cole Blevins, Baylee Burdette, Moriah Dumas, Carter Durant, Samuel Faulkner, Korben Fink, Jordan Gardner, Clary Graham, Kaden Harris, Colton Hood, Ryan Laws, Macie Lowder, Caleb Martin, Carson McDaniel, Abigail Morse, Christopher Osalde Sanchez, Max Pickens, Kevin Ponce-Solis, Maddyn Sanders, Alexis Smith and Jordyn Williams.

Fifth grade: Bryson Bentley, Reese Brown, Kennedy Clawson, Ella Doby, Callee Edwards, Ashely Elorza, Eli Graham, Conner Heath, Haven Lawson, Tyler Looney, Austin Page, Jaydon Sanchez, Angel Sanchez-Guerrero, Fred Taylor and Isaiah Wood.