• 63°

Former A.L. Brown star earns A-A honors with NC A&T

Brandon Parker is first team All-American

Brandon Parker

By Ralph D. Russo

AP College Football Writer

Defending national champion and top-ranked James Madison placed three players on The Associated Press FCS All-America first team, more than any other school.

The team, chosen by a panel of 10 media members who cover the second tier of Division I football, was released Tuesday.

James Madison was represented by offensive lineman Aaron Stinnie, defensive lineman Andrew Ankrah and defensive back Jordan Brown. The Dukes play South Dakota State in the FCS semifinals on Saturday.

South Dakota quarterback Chris Streveler and UC Davis receiver Keelan Doss, two of the three finalists for the Walter Payton Award that goes to the best offensive player in FCS, were also selected as All-Americans. The other finalist, Sam Houston quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe, was selected to the second team. Briscoe won the Payton last year.

South Dakota placed offensive lineman Jacob Ohnesorge and tight end Dallas Goedert on the first team. Goedert is an All-American for the second straight season.

The other FCS semifinal features North Dakota State and Sam Houston State, both of which had two FCS All-Americans.

North Dakota was represented on the first team by linebacker Nick DeLuca and offensive lineman Austin Kuhnert. Sam Houston had receiver Davion Davis and defensive lineman P.J. Hall on the first team.





Quarterback — Chris Streveler, senior, South Dakota.

Running backs — Dominick Bragalone, junior, Lehigh; Josh Mack, sophomore, Maine.

Tight end — Dallas Goedert, senior, South Dakota State.

Receivers — Keelan Doss, junior, UC Davis; Davion Davis, junior, Sam Houston State.

Linemen — Brandon Parker, senior, North Carolina A&T; Austin Kuhnert, senior, North Dakota State; Jacob Ohnesorge, senior, South Dakota State; Aaron Stinnie, senior, James Madison; Justin Lea, senior, Jacksonville State.

All-purpose player — John Santiago, junior, North Dakota.

Kicker — Trey Tuttle, freshman, Weber State.


Linemen — Andrew Ankrah, senior, James Madison; Jonathan Petersen, senior, San Diego; Darius Jackson, senior, Jacksonville State; P.J. Hall, senior, Sam Houston State.

Linebackers — Brett Taylor, senior, Western Illinois; Darius Leonard, senor, South Carolina State; Nick DeLuca, senior, North Dakota State.

Backs — Mike Basile, senior, Monmouth; George Odum, senior, Central Arkansas; Taron Johnson, senior, Weber State; Jordan Brown, senior, James Madison.

Punter — Joe Zema, senior, Incarnate Word.




Quarterback — Jeremiah Briscoe, senior, Sam Houston State.

Running backs — Roc Thomas, senior, Jacksonville State; Zane Dudek, freshman, Yale.

Linemen — Stetson Dagel, senior, South Dakota; John Cook, junior, Central Arkansas; Timon Parris, senior, Stony Brook; Ben Huss, senior, Duquesne; Matthew Schmidt, senior, Furman.

Tight end — Andrew Vollert, senior, Weber State.

Receivers — Neil O’Connor, junior, New Hampshire; Jaelon Acklin, senior, Western Illinois.

All-purpose player — Elijah Marks, senior, Northern Arizona.

Kicker — Gunnar Raborn, junior, McNeese State.


Linemen — Anthony Ellis, senior, Charleston Southern; Ahmad Gooden, junior, Samford; Jaison Williams, sophomore, Austin Peay; Abdullah Anderson, senior, Bucknell.

Linebackers — Matthew Oplinger, senior, Yale; Jared Farley, senior, Northern Iowa; Brandon Bryant, senior, Lafayette.

Backs — Marlon Bridges, sophomore, Jacksonville State; Phillip Parham, senior, senior, Lafayette; Davontae Harris, senior, Illinois State; Rashad Robinson, junior, James Madison.

Punter — Ian Berryman, junior, Western Carolina.




Quarterback — Chandler Burks, junior, Kennesaw State.

Running backs — De’Lance Turner, senior, Alcorn State; Detrez Newsome, senior, Western Carolina.

Linemen — Skyler Phillips, senior, Idaho State; Zach Mitchler, junior, Kennesaw State; Alex Thompson, senior, Monmouth; Iosua Opeta, junior, Weber State; Ross Demmel, junior, Wofford.

Tight end — Ross Dwelley, senior, San Diego.

Receivers — Nathan Stewart, sophomore, Sam Houston State; Justin Watson, senior, Penn.

All-purpose player — Khris Gardin, senior, North Carolina A&T.

Kicker — Lorran Fonseca, junior, Nicholls State.


Linemen — Darin Greenfield, sophomore, South Dakota; Chris Terrell, sophomore, Central Arkansas; Ben Sorensen, senior, Sacramento State; Nick Wheeler, sophomore, Colgate.

Linebackers — Garrett Dolan, senior, Houston Baptist; Thomas Costigan, junior, Bryant; Christian Rozeboom, sophomore, South Dakota State.

Backs — Elijah Campbell, sophomore, Northern Iowa; Franklin McCain III, redshirt freshman, North Carolina A&T; Tremon Smith, senior, Central Arkansas; Davanta Reynolds, junior, North Carolina Central.

Punter — Austin Barnard, senior, Samford.


Voters: John Bohnenkamp, The Hawk Eye, Burlington, Iowa; George Madia, Daily News-Record, Harrisonburg, Virginia; Kevin Gore, Nacogdoches (Louisiana) Daily; Gene Henley, Times Free Press, Chattanooga, Tennessee; Jeff Kolpack, KFGO, Fargo, North Dakota; Colter Nuanez, Skyline Sports, Bozeman, Montana; Teddy Renois, Daily Comet, Thibodaux, Louisiana; Justin Rust, Journal Gazette & Times Courier, Mattoon, Illinois; Damien Sordelett, The (Lynchburg, Virginia) News & Advance; Donal Ware, DW Communications, Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina.


More AP college football: http://collegefootball.ap.org and http://www.twitter.com/AP_Top25



‘It’s our big time’: Salisbury Farmers Market reopens Saturday


Schools capital funding still frozen as RSS sends local budget to county


Shields, Cheerwine Festival receive N.C. Main Street Awards


Duke University launches kidney disease study in Kannapolis for people of African descent


Horizons Unlimited will hold in-person summer camps


Education briefs: Catawba planning for more in-person activities, free summer school tuition


County’s full COVID-19 vaccinations top 22,600

High School

High school golf: With Merrell, Mustangs back on top


Spencer investigating rat problem on South Iredell Street


Livingstone, Mission House Church to host national ‘Black Voters Matter’ listening session




Groundbreaking on Pennant Square signals next phase in downtown Kannapolis revitalization


J&J vaccine to remain in limbo while officials seek evidence


Prosecutors: No charges for officer in Capitol riot shooting


Biden to pull US troops from Afghanistan, end ‘forever war’


Former Minnesota cop charged in shooting of Black motorist


Blotter: April 14


Former North Carolina Gov. McCrory enters US Senate race


Salisbury woman arrested in Myrtle Beach for abducting child


County updates health director job description, will advertise for position

High School

High school tennis: East beats Carson, still hopes to share NPC title


Board of Elections to purchase upgraded voting equipment using federal grant


Kyle Seager drives in winning run in first game as Mariners split doubleheader with Orioles


City exhausts this year’s funds for Innes Street Improvements, Municipal Services District grant programs