• 50°

Education shoutouts

North Rowan Elementary

The following students made the All A honor roll for the first quarter:

Fifth grade: Angelee Alvarado, Chance Bryant, Dasia Elder, Jackson Jones, Paige Kashola and Eris Riley.

Fourth grade: Addison Connor, Joshua Douthit, Adrionna King, Brayden Mahaley, Olivia Neely, G’siah Patterson, Elizabeth Perdomo and Justin Reliford.

Third grade: Lucy Jones, Jaleel Morrow, Kennedi Sturdivant and Julianne Trapp.

The following students made the A/B honor roll:

Fifth grade: Antonio Austidillo, Ariana Brown, Johan Castro, Marissa Craig, Tomas Cruz Vega, Elise Ellis, Ann Espinal-Baquis, Jackelyn Esquivel Corado, Kimora Geter, Jaylen Neely, Carolina Pirhala, Joy Shaw, Brayden Smith, Anders Thompson, Z’miya Vinson, Jesse Wiand, Evalynne Wilson and Reagan Wittich.

Fourth grade: Zayra Almarez Martinez, Tristen Brown, Lexi Castellon, Crystal Cleveland, Cassady Garcia Hernandez, Jeremiah Grant, Roseanna Laxton, Ka’Nya Lockwood-Richardson, Donavin Macfall, Dania Mendoza, Cheyenne Nesbitt, Jalexa Ortiz, Presten Pratt, Sergio Uribe Bustillo and Cristian Valois.

Third grade: Andrew Boyle, Gerald Bush, Kanden Cameron, Brooke Connor, Ja’Mir Coward, Caleb Everett, Harmony Graham, Charlotte Jones, Judeg Jones, Abigail Krajnyak, Oscar Lara Martinez, Evan Paustian, De’Ryan Robinson, Braydon Sechler and Brooks Thompson.

The following students were Good Citizens for the month of November:

Kindergarten: Jacob Bennett, Whizdom Connor, Noah Heggins, Chuesee Herh, Brandon Herrera-Mendoza, Jayden Jimenez-Tirado, Gambino Litmon, Ja’Nyla McCullough, Blake Schaefer and Malaiyah Walker.

First grade: Katelyn Cagle, De’Quavion Carpenter, Darby Contreras- Bautista, Niya Herh, Noah Johnson-Williams, Alyssa Newby, Lillie Schwendinger and Tatum Vriesema.

Second grade: Mikaela Black, Saniyah Burch, Samuel Doblado Diaz, Serenity Gilmore, Ian Henderson, Jaquavion Lewis, Roger Matthews, Fallon Osborne, Rogelio Salinas, Sadie Sophia, Moses Vang and Seth Vang.

Third grade: Andrea Alvarez Perez, Mariznia Crockett, James “Caleb” Everett, Zedia Hannah, Aidan Herrera-Most, Antae’yah Horton, Terry Murray, Payton Patterson, Evan Paustian, Waylan Peek and Hailey Russell.

Fourth grade: Hannah Aguilar Flores, James Corum, Cassady Garcia Hernandez, Brayden Mahaley and Jalexa Ortiz Velaquez.

Fifth grade: Johan Castro Giron, Xzoebe Johnson, Stephanie Nunez-Euceda and Anna Tsambourneris.



Political Notebook: Majority of likely voters, local legislators support school reopening bill


COVID-19 vaccinations in Rowan top positives since start of pandemic


Man faces drug charges after breaking and entering call


Waterworks schedules 2021 Summer ARTventures


Blotter: Man faces drug charges after being found passed out in vehicle

Ask Us

Ask Us: What programs exist for litter cleanup?


County begins accepting restaurant grant applications


Blotter: Salisbury man charged with nine more felony sex offenses


Biden team readies wider economic package after virus relief


Spacewalking astronauts prep station for new solar wings


Cuomo sorry for remarks aide ‘misinterpreted’ as harassment


Trump calls for GOP unity, repeats lies about election loss


Rowan County administers 700 vaccines, with majority going to local educators


Shoplifting at Walmart presents challenge for Salisbury police


Commissioners will hear details about changes to solar energy policies


After overcoming obstacles, local barber Daniel King earns registered status


39th annual K12 student exhibitions go virtual


Biz Roundup: Chamber of Commerce to host ‘Salute to Agri-Business’ at March Power in Partnership


Local legislators back bills ranging from new restrictions on sex offenders to Holocaust education


After surviving COVID-19 scare, Lois Willard set to celebrate 100th birthday

High School

Carson rolls over South 41-0 as about 600 allowed in to see season opener for both


East Spencer after-school program looks toward opening, nonprofit status


Frank Ramsey inducted into the NC Military Veterans Hall of Fame


Livingstone’s Stoutamire inducted into 2021 CIAA Hall of Fame