Three towns’ candidates ran unopposed

Published 1:38 am Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Staff report

Cleveland, Faith and Rockwell held municipal elections Tuesday, each with just enough candidates to fill the slots available. Turnout was low.

In Cleveland, Mayor Danny Gabriel received 33 votes in his re-election bid. Re-elected as town commissioners were Pat Phifer, with 31 votes; Richard Taylor, 28 votes; and Gerald Osborne, 27 votes.

Faith voters elect their entire town board every two years. Todd Peeler led the voting this year with 33 votes, followed by Mayor Charles Moody with 32, Mayor Pro Tem Matt Lyerly with 27, incumbent Brian Campbell with 24 and Randall Barger with 23. Barger replaces Gary Gardner, who did not seek re-election.

Rockwell Mayor Beau Taylor received 88 votes in his re-election bid. Elected as aldermen were Mayor Pro Tem Chuck Bowman, 84 votes; Bobby Moore, 77 votes; Stephenie Walker, 77 votes; Timothy Crews, 74 votes; and Chris Stiller, 73 votes. Crews, the only non-incumbent, takes a seat that was held by longtime board member Charles Wingerson, who died in September.