Students join Catawba’s teacher education program

Published 12:00 am Thursday, September 28, 2017

Catawba College News Service

SALISBURY — Catawba College’s department of teacher education held an opening celebration for students in Tom Smith Auditorium on Sept. 12.

A “meet and greet” reception was held before the program, designed to welcome and inform students about the opportunities for students of education.

Dean Jim Stringfield of Catawba’s Goodman School of Education welcomed guests to the opening celebration and pinning ceremony, sponsored by the department of teacher education, the academy for teaching and the Student North Carolina Association of Educators.

Carly Boileau of Lexington, one of the 2016 West Scholars, presented an overview of the Ritchie Academy for Teaching and activities of the West Scholars. West Scholars attending the program were recognized. Kristen Rocko of Johns Creek, Georgia, treasurer of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education, spoke about the requirements for joining Kappa Delta Pi and member benefits.

Chad Springer of China Grove, president of SNCAE, gave a brief presentation about the group’s activities and encouraged students to join. SNCAE officers Laura Isenhour of Salisbury and Maurice Jones of Raleigh described the pin at the beginning of the pinning ceremony.

Twenty-six Catawba College students were honored in the pinning ceremony, which marked their admission to the teacher education program.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic.  Requirements include completion of standardized tests of reading, writing and mathematics and a 2.75 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Karen Lucas, Kimberly Creamer and Donna James assisted with the pinning.

Those who were pinned from the traditional day program included: Regan Bell, Charly Brown, Elizabeth George, Brittany Hager, Laura Isenhour, and  Samuel Wyrick, all of Salisbury; Hunter Benfield of Kannapolis; Branden Davis of Thomasville; Brittany Furr and Madison B. Sides, both of China Grove; Erin Green of Stratford, New Jersey; Leah Huggins of Hope Mills; Connor Johnson of Rockwell; Tyler McHargue of Statesville; Holly Messick of Advance; Caylin Smith of Concord; Rebekah Terry of Mooresville; Jacey Voris of Brevard; Stacey Wagoner of Lexington; and Katie Zobel, Chapin, South Carolina.

Those pinned from Catawba’s birth through kindergarten program included: Magnoria Funderburk of Pageland, South Carolina; Taylor Grier of Kannapolis; Crystal Holcombe of Lexington; Susan Lohr and Taylor Riley, both of Salisbury; and Pamela Robinson of Charlotte.