• 66°

West Rowan FFA brings in awards at state convention

By Sierra Lambert

Special to the Post

MOUNT ULLA — The West Rowan High School Future Farmers of America chapter attended the 89th state FFA convention in Raleigh on June 20-22.

More than 30 of West Rowan’s FFA members attended and competed in career development events.

Sierra Lambert, Sandi Cobb, Mikayla Williamson and Chloe Bolick placed second in the dairy foods and products career development event.

Stacie Ketchie, Ryler Corriher and Parker Greene placed first in meat judging.

In agricultural communications, West Rowan’s Mackenna Clifton, Jessie Cline, Rebekah Russell and Brittany Melchor earned second place.

Sierra Lambert, Parker Greene, Carly Burleyson, Madeline Wilhelm, Mayerlin Alpizar and Ryley Corriher placed second in agricultural issues career development.

Faith Moore, Rebekah Russell, Tinsleigh Myers and Ali Keys placed fourth in agronomy.

Eli Wetmore, Colby Menius, Josh Corriher, and Corbin Bolick earned fourth in tool identification.

West Rowan’s Mayerlin Alpizar placed second in the state for prepared public speaking.

West Rowan also competed in food science. Those members were Alexandra Linder, Cindy Connolly, Abigail Wilson and Lauren Hayes.

Mackenna Clifton competed in creed speaking.

Alex Keadle was the state individual high scorer for ag mechanics, and Josh Corriher was the state individual high scorer for tool identification.

West Rowan’s FFA chapter was awarded the National Chapter award placing second in the state and will compete at the national level. The chapter also received the outstanding alumni affiliate chapter.

West Rowan’s chapter president, Madeline Wilhelm, was elected as a 2017-18 state secretary. She is the fourth state officer ever elected from the West Rowan chapter.

Star awards were given at the convention to Wilhelm for agriscience, placing first in the state, and Brandon Lottes for state star farmer, placing first.

West Rowan received proficiency awards including: Johnathan Luther for agricultural mechanics placement, Devin Simmons for agricultural processing, Mackenzie Koontz for agriscience research on animal systems, Madeline Wilhelm for agriscience research on integrated systems, Alexandra Linder for agriscience research on plant systems, Autumn Kinley for beef production entrepreneurship, Robert Simcox for beef production placement, Macy Burleyson for sheep production and specialty animal production, Hunter Williams for dairy production placement, Lea Smith for diversified agricultural production, Brittany Alexander for equine science entrepreneurship, Wyatt Martin for equine science placement, Richard Bedford for forest management and products, Luke Hager for goat production, and Lea Smith for grain production placement.



Man charged for stowing away on Norfolk Southern train, impeding railroad operations


Group will protest treatment of Georgia woman during 2019 traffic stop


Man overdoses at Piedmont Correctional Institute


Sheriff’s Office: Two men escape from jail, found in bushes on Fulton Street

Ask Us

Ask Us: When will North Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue be resurfaced?


Political Notebook: Rowan’s lawmakers pass 140 bills into the opposite chamber before deadline


Police chief to present use of force policy; city manager to present 2021-22 budget


Blotter: Rockwell man arrested on charges of felony larceny, possession of stolen vehicle


CDC director says mask turnaround based solely on science


Catawba College hosts three in-person commencement ceremonies


With high case loads causing numerous staff departures, Child Protective Services seeks more positions


Livingstone College graduates celebrate ‘crossing the finish line’ during commencement celebration


Rowan sees 4 new COVID-19 deaths as mask mandate lifted, vaccines administered continue decline


Spencer is latest town updating its development ordinance


Salisbury native Kristy Woodson Harvey makes NY Times bestseller list


Board of Commissioners will convene for third time in May


Biz Roundup: Salisbury, Kannapolis among recipients of Region of Excellence Awards


Cheerleading team competes at Disney


Salisbury High to celebrate football, swimming champions with parade

High School

High school girls soccer: Isley, Webb lead all-county team


Spencer awarded $10,000 to develop trails at Stanback Forest


‘Tails and Tales’ coming to library this summer


Public Records: March Deeds


Salisbury Symphony’s ‘Return to the Concert Hall’ available May 24-31