Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, July 6, 2017

Rowan County student recognized

Rowan County student Brianna Haynes was recognized for completing N.C. Farm Bureau’s Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders (IFAL) Program. The program assists exceptional rising high school seniors from across the state in exploring agricultural-related college majors available at the state’s two land-grant universities— NC A&T State University and NC State University. 

Left to right: N.C. Farm Bureau General Counsel Julian Philpott, Brianna Haynes, NC A&T State University Dr. Antoine Alston and NC State University Dr. David Jones.


Nancy H. Goodnight of Horizons Unlimited School recently attended a program held at the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching, a recognized national leader in professional development programming for our state’s teachers.

Increasing teacher effectiveness is fundamental to improving public education. NCCAT provides teachers with new knowledge, skills, teaching methods, best practices and information to take back to their classrooms. NCCAT conducts a wide variety of high-quality professional development for pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers. For more information about NCCAT visit www.nccat.orgor call 828-293-5202.

Clemson University

Tyler C. Hendley, of Kannapolis, and Benton T. Kribbs, of Salisbury, were named to the President’s List at Clemson University for the spring 2017 semester. To be named to the President’s List, a student must achieve a 4.0 grade-point average.

Audra S. Benson and Joshua Michael Rowell, both of Salisbury, were named to the Dean’s List at Clemson University for the spring 2017 semester. To be named to the Dean’s List, a student achieved a grade-point average between 3.50 and 3.99 on a 4.0 scale.

Meredith College

Ashley Deal, of Rockwell, and Abigail Wilson, of Cleveland, recently graduated from Meredith College.

Fayetteville State University

The following local students recently graduated from Fayetteville State University: Lashaunda Durham, of Salisbury; Latasha Gaines, of Salisbury; Jonel Roberson, of Salisbury, and Jenifer Vargas, of Salisbury.