• 81°

GRADUATION 2017: South Rowan High School senior plans

South Rowan High School graduating seniors have made the following plans:

Appalachian State University: Grayson Bell, Tyler Belk, Chase Faine, Hunter Huffman and Roland Grant.

Cabarrus College of Health Sciences: Madison Amico, Carsen Carlton, Camden Carlton, Katelyn Stanley and Key’erah Wagner.

Cape Fear Community College: Dakota Dennis.

Carolinas College of Health Science: Laken Garney.

Catawba College: Ambria Barbee, Brenda Bible, Tiffany Cook, Kaylee Leazer, Keirsten Morgan and Charles Stubbs.

Central Piedmont Community College: Kara Petrea and Jordan Spivey.

Collin County Community College: Bailey Purcell.

East Carolina University: Summer Bare, Alyson Brewer, Madison Fuller and Alexis Hardin.

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University: John Fulton.

Employment: Chandler Cook and Kristina Houlbrook.

Furman University: Preston Tadlock.

Gardner-Webb University: Koby Campbell.

Gaston College: Jennifer Luzzi.

Howard University: Destiny Bryant.

Johnson & Wales University: Andy Rivera.

King’s College: Zak Conner.

Lenoir-Rhyne University: Sarah Ford.

Long Island Beauty School: Tah’janai Glover.

Marymount California University: Jonathan Stirewalt.

Montreat College: Cierra Hunter.

North Carolina State University: Braxton Atwell, Abby Blume, Cameron Corriher, Cheyenne Hunter and Landon Johnson.

Pfeiffer University: Parker Chavis and Ashland Powell.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College: Brittany Abernathy, Trent Berry, Felicity Brown, Paxton Brown, Jason Bryant, Omar Camacho, Daniel Chavez, Skylar Cook, Timothy Cox, Kristin Drexel, Bryan Fink, Bradley Gibson, William Harris, Jessica Hill, Wesley Holloway, Grace Horne, William Hudson, Jon Hunt, Anna Keener, Noah Lee, Cheyenne Matteson, Keara McClary, Tyler McRorie, Kassandra Moses, Brandon Mullis, Karrigan Mushala, Nathan Nguyen, Nelly Olivares, Hailey O’Neal, Sarah Parham, Leslie Perez, Sierra Phillips, Jennifer Reyes-Lopez, Diana Rodriguez, Marissa Sides, Austin Sloop, Sawyer Smith, Jordan Spivey, Makayla Strickland, Zack Walsh and Madison Wilson.

Undecided: Say’Quan Anthony, Riley Beck, Sabrina Broadway, Karrigan Brown, Caitlin Cain, Sarah Clayton, Wesley Clodfelter, Tehya Deaton, Jon Dixon, Stephen Earley, Juan Figueroa, Jacob Gulley, Lauryn Hasenmayer, Patrick Hilton, Walker Joyce, Lauren Magaha, Autumn McKeon, Mark McPike, Kaylie Messier, Daxton Miller, Kaitlin Miller, Michelle Morgan, Philip Musselwhite, Christian Palmer, Brandon Patterson, Dillon Porter, Lisette Rodriguez, Kelsey Sellers, Jonathan Simmons, Rileigh Ward and Stedman Yancy.

U.S. Air Force: Justin Hill and Brennen Manus. 

U.S. Army: Skyler Frizzell, Willis Hobbs and Zachary Zerull.

U.S. Marine Corps: Caleb Bapp, Brian Betancourt, Rachel Morrow, Dylan Roberts and Samuel Travis.

U.S. Navy: Adrian Figueroa.

Universal Technical Institute: Brandon Briggs, Katie Burkett and Dakota Palmer.

University of North Carolina Chapel Hill: Austin Chrismon, Lindsey Cole, Tyler Peacock, Lunar Singsomphone and Madison Temple.

University of North Carolina Charlotte: Kelsey Borras, Madilyn Jones, Dawson Larrimore, Chandler Norton, Dillion Norton, Matthew Peeler, Danielle Rouse, Kane Solomon and Justin Wilson.

University of North Carolina Greensboro: Lydia Isaacs and Kailee Kicinski.

University of North Carolina Pembroke: Glen Gilbert, Elijah Johnson, McKenzie Miller, Natalie Rodgers and Niah Spratt.

University of North Carolina Wilmington: Alexcis Cameron, Austin Hyde and Breanna Lentz.

Western Carolina University: Anthony Barry, Daysi Bernal-Fores, Connor Henderson, Andrew Hubbard, Hannah Lambert, Jazmyne Scercy and Seth Turbeville.

Wingate University: Haley Alexander, Brandon Blay, Timothy Bryant, Alexis Hamdan, Bryanna Honeycutt and Brooklyn Lewis.



Former North Carolina Gov. McCrory enters US Senate race


Salisbury woman arrested in Myrtle Beach for abducting child


County updates health director job description, will advertise for position

High School

High school tennis: East beats Carson, still hopes to share NPC title


Board of Elections to purchase upgraded voting equipment using federal grant


Kyle Seager drives in winning run in first game as Mariners split doubleheader with Orioles


City exhausts this year’s funds for Innes Street Improvements, Municipal Services District grant programs


Landis adopts amendments to Zoning Ordinance related to signs, Planning Board terms


Cop, police chief resign 2 days after Black motorist’s death


Expert says cop was justified in pinning down George Floyd


Blotter: April 13


County switches vaccines for Livingstone clinic after federal, state guidance


US recommends ‘pause’ for J&J vaccine over clot reports


Superintendent talks first 100 days, dives into district data


‘It was an answer to a call:’ TenderHearted Home Care celebrates 10 years of providing care at home


Political Notebook: Local polls find increasing number of North Carolinians want COVID-19 vaccine


Trial begins on challenge to latest NC voter ID law


Burch, Fisher, Marsh honored as 2021 recipients of Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Humanitarian Award


Landis board talks revenues, budget planning, department updates


College baseball: Catawba rolls 7-1 and 24-1


Student fires at officers at Tennessee school, is killed


Police: Minnesota officer meant to draw Taser, not handgun


Man receives consecutive prison sentences for sex offenses


RSS Board of Education approves Faith Elementary sale