• 52°

GRADUATION 2017: Rowan County Early College scholarships

Rowan County Early College graduates earned the following scholarships:

Nakyia Blakeney: Catawba College Environmental Studies Scholarship and Catawba College Presidential Scholarship.

Kory Ly: Catawba College Environmental Studies Scholarship and Catawba College Presidential Scholarship.

Michael Pierce: Catawba College Environmental Studies Scholarship and Catawba College Presidential Scholarship.

Kimberly Clawson: Catawba College Trustee Scholarship.

Fabrizio Lyles: Granite Quarry Civitan Scholarship and State Employees’ Credit Union.

Jesus Kelsey Sanchez: Mount Zion United Church of Christ, Rowan County Early College PTA, University of North Carolina at Greensboro Dean’s Scholarship and American Association of University Women the Helen S. and L. Goldman Scholarship.

Dora Gonzalez: N.C. State University Chancellor’s Leadership Scholarship and N.C. State University N.C. Education Lottery Scholarship.

Dillon Hines: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Brianna Settle: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Arnol Trujillo Pacheco: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Deja Worth: Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship.

Cecilia Garduno Gonzalez: Rowan County Early College PTA.

Celerino Munoz Ramos: Rowan County Early College PTA, University of North Carolina at Greensboro Spartan Award and University of North Carolina at Greensboro Escheats Scholarship.

Radha Patel: Rowan County Early College PTA.

Kallia Yang: Rowan County Early College PTA.

TaCora Crump: Salem Presbyterian Women and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority – Alpha Alpha Zeta Chapter.

Victor Alonso Mendoza: Salisbury Rotary Club.

Estefany Jacobo: St. John’s Lutheran Church Bruce Alden Ketner, Jr. Scholarship.

Chyna Cuthbertson: University of North Carolina at Pembroke Academic Enhancement Scholarship.

Bryan Stewart: Western Carolina University CS University Scholarship.



County updates health director job description, will advertise for position

High School

High school tennis: East beats Carson, still hopes to share NPC title


Board of Elections to purchase upgraded voting equipment using federal grant


Kyle Seager drives in winning run in first game as Mariners split doubleheader with Orioles


City exhausts this year’s funds for Innes Street Improvements, Municipal Services District grant programs


Landis adopts amendments to Zoning Ordinance related to signs, Planning Board terms


Cop, police chief resign 2 days after Black motorist’s death


Expert says cop was justified in pinning down George Floyd


Blotter: April 13


County switches vaccines for Livingstone clinic after federal, state guidance


US recommends ‘pause’ for J&J vaccine over clot reports


Superintendent talks first 100 days, dives into district data


‘It was an answer to a call:’ TenderHearted Home Care celebrates 10 years of providing care at home


Political Notebook: Local polls find increasing number of North Carolinians want COVID-19 vaccine


Trial begins on challenge to latest NC voter ID law


Burch, Fisher, Marsh honored as 2021 recipients of Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Humanitarian Award


Landis board talks revenues, budget planning, department updates


College baseball: Catawba rolls 7-1 and 24-1


Student fires at officers at Tennessee school, is killed


Police: Minnesota officer meant to draw Taser, not handgun


Man receives consecutive prison sentences for sex offenses


RSS Board of Education approves Faith Elementary sale


Rowan Health Department receives 400 Pfizer, 800 Johnson & Johnson vaccines for week


Blotter: Accident in Food Lion only weekend shooting to produce injuries