• 72°

GRADUATION 2017: A.L. Brown Scholarships

Students at A.L. Brown High School received numerous scholarships.

Marco Gonzalez Blancas: Rubenstein Scholarship Duke University.

Katie Marroquin: Pilot Club Anchor Award.

Savanna Hagler: SECU People Helping People, NCHSAA Wilburn Clary Scholarship, American Legion Scholarship, Jonathan Foundation, Byron L. King Scholarship and Booster Club Scholarship.

Dalton McKinney: DAR Good Citizen Award.

Anahi Pena-Neri: Cooperative Christian Ministries Fran Black Holland Scholarship and Byron L. King Scholarship.

Cinsere Allison: Keith Black Scholarship and Booster Club Scholarship.

Caroline David: North Carolina Retired School Personnel Education Scholarship, Millie Hall Scholarship, Central Carolina Association Realtors and JoAnne Byerly Scholarship.

Chloe Gentry: North Carolina Retired School Personnel Education Scholarship, Alpha Lambda ADK and Debbie Lowery Scholarship.

Kori Chitty: North Carolina Retired School Personnel Education Scholarship.

Piper Stanley: American Legion Scholarship.

Karen Calderon: NCAE/KAE Scholarship.

Ashley Allen: American Legion Scholarship, Byron L. King Scholarship, Kannapolis Rotary Scholarship and Booster Club Scholarship.

Caleb Smith: American Legion Scholarship and Carlyle Rutledge Scholarship.

Nayla Honeycutt: American Legion Scholarship.

Davonte Drummond: Rowan-Cabarrus Community College F&M Scholarship.

Gracelyn Watson: Rowan-Cabarrus Community College F&M Scholarship.

Katherine Hill: Salvation Army Women’s Auxiliary.

Kyle Heater: N.C. State University Carlyle Aubrey Wiggins, Jr. Scholarship College of Engineering.

Jordan Smith: Cabarrus County Agricultural Fair Scholarship.

Julia Barrier: Carla Sloop Scholarship.

Lillian Richardson: Kannapolis Junior Woman’s Club Scholarship.

Alyssa Pittman: General Federation of Women’s Clubs Kannapolis Woman’s Club Scholarship.

Adilene Coreas: Doris Goedeke Scholarship.

Kamiree Benning: Bethel Community Impact Scholarship.

Diego Ugarte: Sara Frances Bounds Scholarship and Catawba College Scholarship.

Tessa Ferguson: Sara Frances Bounds Scholarship, Kannapolis Rotary Scholarship, NCSU Cabarrus Alumini Scholarship and Winterguard International Scholarship.

Calla Veazie: Sara Frances Bounds Scholarship.

Chandni Shah: Sara Frances Bounds Scholarship and Byron L. King Scholarship.

Brianna Barlow: Sara Frances Bounds Scholarship and Byron L. King Scholarship.

Ever Tello-Perez: Sara Frances Bounds Scholarship and Catawba College Scholarship.

Katie Beth Hill: Carlyle Rutledge Scholarship.

Zachery Martin: Catawba College Scholarship.

Keilen McNeil: Catawba College Scholarship.

Martin Solano Munoz: Catawba College Scholarship.

Lydia Funderburk: Catawba College Scholarship.

Imelda Santiago Gatica: Catawba College Scholarship.

Trevor Johnson: Catawba College Scholarship.

Agustin Granillo: Catawba College Scholarship.

Patrick Fongemy: Catawba College Scholarship and James and Mary Bassinger Scholarship.

Allison Baker: Catawba College Scholarship.

Christina D’Amelio: Catawba College Scholarship.

Anastasia Siemers: Catawba College Scholarship.

Shemya Stanback: Catawba College Scholarship.

Jontai Xaysombath: Booster Club Scholarship.

Leah Upright: Booster Club Scholarship and James and Mary Bassinger Scholarship.

Lea Hilton: Booster Club Scholarship.

Emily Davis: Lifting As We Climb Scholarship and Clifford Brown Scholarship First Presbyterian Church.

Graham Crawford: Dixie Youth Scholarship, Clifford Brown Scholarship First Presbyterian Church and Myrtle Beaver Scholarship.



Former North Carolina Gov. McCrory enters US Senate race


Salisbury woman arrested in Myrtle Beach for abducting child


County updates health director job description, will advertise for position

High School

High school tennis: East beats Carson, still hopes to share NPC title


Board of Elections to purchase upgraded voting equipment using federal grant


Kyle Seager drives in winning run in first game as Mariners split doubleheader with Orioles


City exhausts this year’s funds for Innes Street Improvements, Municipal Services District grant programs


Landis adopts amendments to Zoning Ordinance related to signs, Planning Board terms


Cop, police chief resign 2 days after Black motorist’s death


Expert says cop was justified in pinning down George Floyd


Blotter: April 13


County switches vaccines for Livingstone clinic after federal, state guidance


US recommends ‘pause’ for J&J vaccine over clot reports


Superintendent talks first 100 days, dives into district data


‘It was an answer to a call:’ TenderHearted Home Care celebrates 10 years of providing care at home


Political Notebook: Local polls find increasing number of North Carolinians want COVID-19 vaccine


Trial begins on challenge to latest NC voter ID law


Burch, Fisher, Marsh honored as 2021 recipients of Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Humanitarian Award


Landis board talks revenues, budget planning, department updates


College baseball: Catawba rolls 7-1 and 24-1


Student fires at officers at Tennessee school, is killed


Police: Minnesota officer meant to draw Taser, not handgun


Man receives consecutive prison sentences for sex offenses


RSS Board of Education approves Faith Elementary sale